We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gyro since NYC”
Review of Al Salaam Deli

Al Salaam Deli
Ranked #267 of 870 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gyro since NYC”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Best gyro evarrrr!!!! Took one bite in car just to try it. Could not stop eating!!!! All gone now! Headed back in to buy one to take home!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladybird1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious, Authentic Middle Eastern Food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stopped here while vacationing in Savannah. The food was authentic and delicious -- we had a Lamb Gyro and Falafel sandwiches. The owners are nice and prepare the food themselves. Prices were good. We're glad we ventured outside the Historic District.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdNJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah,GA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lived in the middle East for 2 years & can tell you it is authentic & fresh. I love the Falafel really good. As others have said they have a wide variety of food including some American, burgers, fries etc. I stop by for lunch every couple of months or more if working in the area. Owner is a great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavannahBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It's not the pretties neighborhood in town and the place is tiny and kind of crummy looking.

Well, if you don't give this place a try, it's your loss. My family of 4 ran up a bill of over $50 and their food is not at all expensive. We just tried a lot of stuff. I don't think you could go wrong no matter what you order. I had lamb gyros and I loved my meal but the chicken dishes my wife and kids got were even better. Their platters and salads look so good that I was lusting after other diner's meals even as I was getting stuffed on my own. The baklava was delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newnan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Food was very good and you can't beat the prices, however it's a little out of the way and the atmosphere needs work. Could be a great restaurant in a better location.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bo8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Salaam Deli also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Al Salaam Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing