We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by appearance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayou Cafe

Bayou Cafe
Ranked #159 of 858 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by appearance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I went here on the recommendation of a friend. When I walked in, I immediately thought that this place was a bit sketchy in appearance. I was by myself and sat down at the bar. The server was a bit busy, but friendly and fun to chat with. I had a cup of Jambalaya and a BBQ sandwich. Both were EXCELLENT. If you like a bit of spice, use their homemade sauce...it's GREAT! On top of having good food, they were also very accommodating with my request to bring in a fairly large group the following night. The manager made a few calls and set us up to use their room upstairs for a group...all in all, this place has good food and is run by good people. They might get a bit busy for lunch and dinner time, but if you're OK with relaxing and not hurrying your meal, I highly recommend stopping by here for a meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrptPlyr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    139
    43
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Awesome time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is an awesome dive bar. Live musician that was great and they were heavy handed on drinks! I didn't eat here but it smelled and looked wonderful. Will definitely be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Understaffed and poor quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had an early dinner on a Friday night. Restaurant filled-up quickly and there was only one waiter who, under the circumstances, didn't do too badly. We've travelled to Louisiana and have had good cajun food. This was poor. We had fried shrimp that had way too much batter. Jambalaya was too heavy on the sauce. We ate no more than half of the food on our plates. Disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubly, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jam session”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The wait staff were very attentive and friendly. Good food for a good price. Loved the jam session (blues music) after 9pm. Place was full most of the evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KHel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with awesome food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is a dive bar/pub/cafe but the food is awesome! The server was friendly and treated us like we were regulars. I recommend you stumble in and have a Cajun burrito or shrimp po-boy. Delicious! The beer is good too. ;-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Cafe also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Bayou Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing