We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management”

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Ranked #557 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
Clayton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor Management”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived for a late snack before dinner. We walked in and there was no hostess. We went to the bar since we weren't planning on staying long. After sitting for 15 minutes we saw numorous people walk past us without being spoken to. Even people going behind the bar and back out. Come to find out lunch wasn't too busy so they let the bartender go home before the night time one was due in. But yet no manager or anything was taking care of the bar. We finally had a nice server take care of us but at that point our experience couldn't be fixed. Although the food was good I don't plan on returning. There is no excuse to allow people to sit there clearly not helped for so long without anyone saying anything or even apologizing. I have worked in hotel/restaurant management for years. This isn't the way things should be handled.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ELISABETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    20
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Service and Cold Food”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I met my friend for lunch at this restaurant. It was not very crowded. It took ten minutes for the waiter to come take our drink orders. The food was cold when it arrived. I sent the soup and the pasta back to the kitchen to be warmed up. The waiter was not attentive at all. I expected more from this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandsara_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lunch in the hot day”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

it was nice design in the Italian style,especially interesting lessons on Italian language in the rest rooms,which are also nice and clean.Service was quite affordable.Food(mostly different pasta specialities in our case)was tasty and portions are big.Good place for for meals after shopping or in the mid-business day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank admirerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Mac has lost its Roni”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Romano's Macaroni Grill is at Oglethorpe Mall in Savannah and has an excellent and very visible location. What is also unfortunately visible is the downward path this restaurant is on from it once busy heights. From the outside, the place looks like it is closed. Dark windows, etc. The greeter in the front was not present ( in an almost empty place at 9:15 at night) and when the person did appear, was dressed in what appeared to be chef's wear. Not exactly greeter apparel so she must have been covering for someone. The wait staff was nice but service was slow, again in a very unbusy place, and the staff seemed to have a lot of time to talk among themselves (probably for lack of business). The one bright spot was the food which was consistent with past visits. This restaurant has a warm and inviting atmosphere so it is a shame to see it in this status.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not like it use to be.”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just a lunch and not in a hurry but the service was slow, slower & slowest. Severely understaffed, many uncleared tables as I went to the mens room. No hostess. Scratch this off the consistent choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing