We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really is like NYC pizza! ”
Review of Vinnie Van Go-Go's

Vinnie Van Go-Go's
Ranked #34 of 870 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really is like NYC pizza! ”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

When we first checked into our hotel which was across the street, the concierge told us to check out the pizza place across the street because the pizza was incredible. We kind of shrugged her off because I am from NYC and no pizza is as good as the pizza at home. As it turns out, we wound up getting pizza there later at night and it was just like delicious NYC pizza. Delicious !

Helpful?
Thank H9695QYjenniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,228
    701
    222
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angier, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is great NY city style pizza. Huge slices. The divieness of the place adds to the charm. Plus the pizza makers are pretty entertaining. While in Savannah lunch here is a must.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“GREAT Pizza!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It just isn't a complete Savannah trip without stopping at Vinnies for a pizza. The place is always busy but worth the wait. The crust is crisp an tastes perfect. The toppings are fresh and the pie is cooked perfectly. You are not going to a chain restaurant. Your pie will be served on a metal pie pan that will be elevated off the table so you have more table space. There are large commercial size spice jars of oregano, crushed red pepper flakes, and granulated garlic besides the cheese on the tables.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza, great prices”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Was told this was the best in Savannah. Waited in a line, in the rain for a place to sit, so expectations were really high. I will give you this...it was really good. The crust was fresh and crispy, the ingredients were good. The sauce wasn't my favorite, I could tell it was made fresh, I just prefer a sweeter sauce.

The ambiance was pretty cool for college kids and those in their 20s and early 30s. As a couple in our early 40s, I felt the waitress rushed passed us and a few others in our age group and older to hang and talk with tables of others who were closer to her own age. We paid in cash but needed change (which by the way is the only form of payment accepted here, so bring cash with you.) She went to the next table and talked for literally 10-15 minutes. When she finally left the room, she forgot to bring our change back. When she saw us and the table next to us standing with our coats on, she looked embarrassed, ran out and got our change. But she didn't apologize. The service (and the sauce) are the reasons I didn't give it an excellent review.)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle46221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
348 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Every time I got to Savannah I just have to have a nice slice of Pie from Vinnie Van Go-GOs….nothing fancy, but dish!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stcloudmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnie Van Go-Go's also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Vinnie Van Go-Go's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing