We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapphire Grill

Sapphire Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sapphire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Congress & Whitaker
Description: One of the city's most consistently stylish restaurants evokes a low-key, counterculture bistro, but its cuisine is grander and more cutting-edge than its industrial-looking decor and its level of hipness would imply. Wrapped in warm brick and cool steel, the Sapphire Grill has steeped itself in a history of fine culinary tradition. Christopher Nason is the owner and the most talked about chef of the moment in Savannah, preparing what he defines as a "coastal cuisine" based on seafood hauled in on the day of its preparation from nearby waters. From seasonal chanterelles and oregon black truffles, to the most tender cuts of meat and delicate seafood, Chef Nason and his team work feverishly to keep Sapphire at the mark expected of her.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have been going to the Sapphire for over ten years whenever we visit Savannah when we visit Roebling Road Raceway. We usually arrive with 10-12 in our party and they never miss a bet. We tried the Chef's six course tasting menu for the first time and it was excellent. Our server, Lauren, was excellent. Great pre-dinner drinks and an excellent wine list. This establishment should not be missed when you visit Savannah.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    126
    53
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place in Savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

No trip to Savannah would be complete without dinner at Sapphires! Hand made mojitos, awesome! The chef is the owner, no detail goes missing! If you want an upscale meal in a slightly more laid bak atmosphere, this is the place to go. Don't go to Savannah and skip this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank schotmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening - Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

What a fun place! We weren't sure what to expect when taxi dropped us off in alley. We were early so we grabbed a cocktail and talked at bar. Great start.

Menu had amazing dish choices and great seasonal items. Super wine choices. So many thugs we wanted to try. Delightful and light desserts with aromatic coffee. Service very professional yet friendly.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JubaFoodTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Looking for a new experience while in Savannah for our anniversary and borrowing from a previous poster through OpenTable I requested the private table in the wine cellar and was most pleased when upon arrival the gracious host, David, escorted us downstairs to our private table. Lauren, our server, was friendly, professional, knowledgeable and timely with her service and provided wonderful insight into the menu and wine list. My wife opted for toasted garlic mascovy duck and I the Six Course Chef's Tasting Table. Each dish was was prepared exquisitely, the flavors fantastic and presentation very well done indeed. Our dinner experience was everything I hoped for in our first, but not last, trip to the Sapphire Grill.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conchobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Sapphire Grill doesn't look like much from the outside but we had a great meal and great service here. We were here with a business group and were located on the third floor. The service was impeccable, all of the food options were very good and we enjoyed the ambiance. My daughter had the three-course chef's vegetable option and it was terrific. Calamari was light and yummy. I had the Crisp Benne Encrusted Local Black Grouper served with Jasmine Rice, Sweet Soy & Wok Seared Seasonal Vegetable. Everything was nicely presented and tasted wonderful. I highly recommend the Sapphire Grill!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapphire Grill also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sapphire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing