We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good ol’ Southern Café.”
Review of Clary's Cafe

Clary's Cafe
Ranked #45 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Good ol’ Southern Café.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food is pretty darn good and worth the visit. Just don’t expect anything fancy here because this is a true southern café in a really old building with very friendly, laid back waitresses that look to have been working there for the last 50 years. Ate here twice - breakfast on the 17th and Lunch on the 18th - Happy both times.

Don't miss Clary's for breakfast or lunch when you come to Savannah.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    436
    167
    49
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This is one stop my wife and I make every time we go to Savannah!!! It really got out on the map after the movie and book Midnight In A Garden Of Good And Evil!! But the service, staff, and food is out of this world!! True southern cooking at its best!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FFK518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast and Service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice old school diner with delicious food. We enjoyed our breakfast/lunch, and realized that this cafe was in the movie "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil."

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, average lunch”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have lived in the Savannah area for 8 years and have eaten at Clary's 5 or 6 times. My take on the place is that the breakfast is above average, but for lunch, you could do better somewhere else. But they do serve breakfast all day, so that's what I usually get. My favorite is the Greek omelet, with spinach, feta cheese, onion, and tomato. The bacon is thin and crispy, just like I like it. Their malted waffles are also delicious. Never been disappointed in the breakfast food, but lunch food is just so-so - nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybee815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting history; average food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled in Clarys cafe while looking for breakfast. Looked like many others were enjoying their food so we went too. Dining room looked like it could use some updating but the food was hot,freshly made and plenteous. Waitress was stretched a little thin. She didn't make it clear that we were to take our check to the counter. Second waiter explained the history of Clarys which added to the character if the place. May be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clncrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clary's Cafe also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Clary's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing