We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun, unique experience”

Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room
Ranked #6 of 940 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sitting around large tables give guests an opportunity to meet interesting people from around the world. The traditional Southern food is served family-style where bowls and platters are passed. Each visitor can serve themselves the dishes that appeal to them and pass along the others. This is a wonderful way to sample many dishes and visit with others. The restaurant is in a former boarding house. If this appeals to you, do not miss this experience.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank seslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 4,900 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

It is great that Mrs. Wilkes was open on December 24, as we were unsure we would be able to get there any other time during our trip. We had prepared for it, so we got there at 10:30am, about 30 mins before they opened. There were at least 40 people ahead of us already. We waited outside for a good hour, but between chatting and checking in on our dog we left in the car, the wait didn’t feel so long. Once we got to go in, we just followed the lead of a server who makes sure we get seated somewhere at one of their big 10 – 12 person tables. By the time you sit down, the dishes are already set waiting for you, and the warm meats arrive soon after. What a treat, so many delicious sides and meats: yams, lima beans, collards, fried chicken, bbq pork, beef stew, corn, corn bread, black beans, rice with sausage, potatoes, etc. etc. etc. I’m an introvert but didn’t feel awkward sitting at the table with strangers. Everyone was very pleasant, you just make small talk but for the most part just enjoy the food before you. Whole experience takes about 40 minutes, at which point you get up, walk to the front and pay (IN CASH ONLY). The food was an amazing spectacle of Southern cuisine, and the experience is very unique. The service is friendly, and the house itself is very homey and comfy so it makes you feel almost at home while eating. Great place.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank sumaksito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

They are on vacation all of January- but when I looked at their website- it said nothing about being gone. This is the second time this has happened. We will not be returning.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Mamarubes1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

A real interesting experience. An abundance and variety of food. Mrs Wilkes granddaughter was the perfect hostess - warm ,friendly , unrushed - delightful!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Wait in line for a long time. Sit at community tables. Watch servers run with carts of food. Try a little bit (or a lot) of many delicious selections. It’s fun, it’s good. An experience you’ll not forget. You will definitely want to visit again.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing