We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fried chicken”

Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room
Ranked #7 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet
Neighborhood: Downtown
McDonough, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Mrs Wilkes Boarding House lived up to all of the hype. There was a wide variety of food and it was all delicious. We only waited about 20 minutes for a table but it was worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lhl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,089
    633
    238
    74
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dot miss the experience!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We drove down to Savannah from Kiawah Island for the day and left early enough so we could eat lunch here.. After reading all the reviews, I knew we had to experience this restaurant. It was worth the hr wait to eat the fried chicken with 20 sides!!! As my daughter said" it isn't that any one dish is that special, but altogether it's really good". And it was!!! We ate and ate and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and being with the other nice people at our table. I should say we all overate because it is impossible to leave without being totally stuffed.
I will say I found the peach cobbler for dessert to be nothing out of the ordinary but the banana pudding was very tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No better southern cooking anywhere!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

There are four of us on a road trip which will ultimately take us over 6000 miles. Culinary experiences on such a long trip are very important. I am certain that Mrs. Wilkes Boarding House will hold on to the number one spot for good restaurants for this entire trip for many reasons! The restaurant is located on a beautiful tree lined street in a lovely area in Savannah. The historic building is awesome and well maintained. Waiting in line is no problem because you meet really nice people from all over and engage in conversations which makes the time pass quickly. Once inside you are seated at a table set and ready for ten. All of your food is on the table and ready for some serious eating family style. Our table had at least 25 different dishes or bowls with an excellent variety of vegetables, starches, meats and breads. Our server anticipating our every need replenished our rapidly disappearing fried chicken, sweet tea, water, corn bread and anything else we needed. All of the dishes were well seasoned and not overly salted. Dessert was banana pudding or peach cobbler! The conversation and laughter at our table did not stop us from eating lots of food. We were not rushed through our meal. After dinner you are politely asked to remove your plates from the table to be dropped off at the kitchen. You pay for your $18.00 meal and deposit your tip in a bowl as you head to the exit. I have absolutely not one complaint and only accolades for this restaurant!

Helpful?
2 Thank Evansee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tons of food!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Looong wait for not so fantastic of a meal. The food is tasty but not on the healthy menu side! You are seated at a table with 10+ people, everything is served family style in big bowls and you have no say in what is brought to the table except your sweet or unsweeet tea! If you love to stuff yourself this might be your style but it wasn't mine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL - A DO NOT MISS!!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

You will wait in line, just know that ahead of time, and enjoy talking to those around you. Everyone is excited to be there and starving for the incredibly delicious food that awaits you inside. I believe we counted 22 plates of food that were brought to the table. Locals raved about this during our trip, that's why we went. I would go again and again and again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Mrs. Wilkes Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing