We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky Good Food.”

Chive Sea Bar & Lounge
Ranked #2 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Inspired by the decadence of the 1920s, Chive Sea Bar & Lounge offers a unique dining affair in Savannah's Historic District. Located on bustling Broughton Street, Chive is a refreshing change of pace for those seeking an intimate experience like no other, for special occasions or a weekday wind down. Our signature vintage cocktails made with top-shelf favorites are perfectly paired with dishes incomparable to any fare served downtown. Chive Sea Bar & Lounge is the ideal place for the Southern pace, bringing the classic to the contemporary.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swanky Good Food.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Great Gatsby meets the rat pack. This place has old school cocktails, delicious seafood, and fine meats. Fantastic service, atmosphere, music, and ambiance. Comfy, private seating ensures that you'll have an intimate dining experience. Would definitely stop in again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBoelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralandshoes45, Owner at Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely appreciate your positive response and we hope to have your business again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    174
    39
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Food--Service needs improving”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a second visit to Chive, with the first being for dinner with friends. This time around, it was lunch. This new addition to the downtown restaurant scene is inviting and unique. We chose selections off the luncheon specials menu, including a shrimp Caesar and red snapper with mushroom risotto, both of which were nicely prepared and well presented. Our only complaint was the long wait to be served, which seemed unreasonable as the restaurant was not particularly crowded.

When leaving the restaurant, I encountered a friend entering with a group. Today I learned that they all enjoyed their lunches, but they too felt the service was lacking when it came to the long wait to receive their lunches. Chive needs to get up to speed and deliver more timely service. The food, atmosphere, and wait staff are first rate, but the wait time is a negative. We found this to be the case when we dined a month ago with friends for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeedoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralandshoes45, Owner at Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always reevaluating our performance at Chive so that we make timely, needed improvements. Our sincerest apologies for your long wait and delayed service. Your review has identified an issue which we hope to fix before your next visit to Chive. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to have your business again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Classy beautiful blue & silver”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The sparkling silver & blue caught our eye. Glad we stopped in for a late evening drink. The bartender was friendly & the atmosphere very calm & elegant. David Bromstad could draw inspiration here.

Helpful?
Thank MoJoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralandshoes45, Owner at Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your positive response and hope to have your business at Chive again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Stellar”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our entire experience at Chive was outstanding!
I have eaten in restaurants all over the country, most of them fine dining/ white tablecloth. This restaurant, in the heart of Savannah, was a unique find. The décor is quite modern and elegant with a delightful vibe that is fresh and energetic.
My food was definitely one of the best lunches I have ever had! I started with the sweet potato/lobster soup. It was SO delicious and there were huge chunks of lobster throughout. I had the snapper risotto for my main dish and it was a perfect balance of flavor and texture. The fish was cooked perfectly, the risotto was a perfect contrast.
For dessert, we had a tuxedo dessert that was delicious.
Overall, the entire experience was stellar. I definitely look forward to going back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We are travelling around the south at the moment and stayed in Savannah for a few nights. We are visiting from Ireland.
If you like good food, cooked beautifully with an Asian vibe don't pass this lovely restaurant.
We liked it so much we ate there twice in four days. Mainly because there were so many great options that we couldn't try (all) on our first visit, so, we went again. No reservation required. Turn up and if they don't have a table sit at the great counter and have a cocktail /drink. Great staff, very friendly, besides being very attractive too.
We choose to sit outside to people watch. The servers never forgot us all night. Great service. Jazz on Saturday nights.
What's great : well we liked the idea of being able to order small /large portions for the entree. The small worked beautifully for us. It's the same as our main portions at home. Starters, there's a raw section, a Ding menu, where u may have Duck, Quail, Sea bass etc. I had Quail. Stunning. Seared on the pan(having been marinated) finished under the grill. Succulent. My main was Beef carpaccio on a seaweed base. The flavours!! My husband had Buffalo steak and said it was succulent and juicy. Cooked to order . Second night I had the Crab cake and he had Duck. All great. The bill for second night was approx 90 dollars tip extra. We hadpre dinner drinks, plus a glass each of wine. So for us this was very good. I really recommend this restaurant. Fine, fine food. Which is what it's all about. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RealFoodIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chive Sea Bar & Lounge also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Chive Sea Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing