We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upbeat find”

Chive Sea Bar & Lounge
Ranked #2 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Inspired by the decadence of the 1920s, Chive Sea Bar & Lounge offers a unique dining affair in Savannah's Historic District. Located on bustling Broughton Street, Chive is a refreshing change of pace for those seeking an intimate experience like no other, for special occasions or a weekday wind down. Our signature vintage cocktails made with top-shelf favorites are perfectly paired with dishes incomparable to any fare served downtown. Chive Sea Bar & Lounge is the ideal place for the Southern pace, bringing the classic to the contemporary.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great upbeat find”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This 1930s retro style lounge is great for both business diners as well as tourists. The food was fresh and interesting. The service was discrete and informative and the atmosphere had a wonderful positive feel. We will return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EasternBreeze100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    169
    38
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“World class dining and a contemporary setting”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at Chive last night, probably one of the best we have had in Savannah.
A quick glance through the windows as you are walking by shows that the decor inside is stunning, beautiful lights and a crisp clean contemporary interior. In the evening, the lighting is low, and the tables, albeit few, are very intimate.
I'll admit, it is odd that all of the servers and bartenders are petite females in little black dresses. The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. We had the lobster and shrimp spring rolls, the sauce on the side was so much more complex than a duck sauce poured out of a food service tub.
We also had the sashimi plate. Not only was it beautifully presented, but the fish was all of the good fish. Tuna, white tuna, salmon, succulent, sweet and delicious. Hubby had the salmon over greens. The glaze on it was perfect, savory and sweet with a teeny hint of spice. I had the Chilean Seabass with orzo. So, so, so good. The orzo had such a complex depth of flavor that you usually don't get with such a tiny pasta.
I love that you had the option of ordering a small or large version of each plate. We both had the small, and I still had some leftover for breakfast.
It's about time Savannah has a restaurant like this. The whole fried food, Southern cuisine thing is so played out. Chive is bringing a really contemporary restaurant experience to downtown Savannah.
We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubirubiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, good service, and great atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I stopped in for lunch on a Friday around noon. We had the shrimp and lobster egg rolls, oceans 5, and the lobster risotto. Everything tasted fantastic! Both enjoyed glasses of wine paired nicely with our meals. The place has beautiful decor and equally beautiful waitresses in LBDs. We enjoyed our lunch so much we stopped by again late that night and had dessert and a bottle of wine. Fairly priced for the quality of the food. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Savannah!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicaDustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Sophisticated and Yummy”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Chive is a great and unique experience in the downtown savannah area. And a great addition to their owners other restaurants (Ele, Fire, Tangerine, The Ki ad I). The food is amazing and the small space is modern, chic, and inviting. I know people around town have complained about their lack of accepting reservations, but with maybe only 12 or so tables in the entire restaurant it is hard to take many reservations. Anyone knowing anything about the restaurant industry would know that it would make the wait extremely long and take up all their tables preventing their staff from making money. I say just suck it up and wait to be sat like everyone else because the fresh food and drinks are certainly worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"UPTOWN" attractive new place and a "hoppin' Bar.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great new eclectic decor, reasonable drink cost and interesting Asian oriented menu. Enjoyed a generous portion of sashimi and curry flavored seafood pasta dish. Pings, meat and fish on a skewer were fun, tasty. Wives loved a sea bass entree'. Excellent, pleasant service knowledgeable service.
Space is small, no reservations, and small barrel chairs at banquette tables were too small for my.........
Overall, a nice addition to the downtown scene, not overpriced with the numerous small plate options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dean424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chive Sea Bar & Lounge also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Chive Sea Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing