We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian!”
Review of Oliva Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Oliva Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Italian!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place just recently opened and they need to tweak the service a bit - but the food was really very, very good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShannoninON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is boxy, metallic, and you can see debris on the vents where there usually is a ceiling. The place was pretty empty for a Saturday night. I wish it wasn't an open kitchen because I could see a woman chef pick her nose and sweat dripping off her face into what appeared to be my dinner. After visiting Spain and Italy this food doesn't compare. They claim to have Basque, Spain and Italian food but they should have just stuck to one. I ordered their signature lasagna with a salad but thank god I otdered the salad because the lasagna took half an hour. There are better Italian and Mediterranean places down the street for a better value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gafoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fresh & delightful!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

So glad to see Chad as the Wait Staff Captain.
The profession of food service is taken seriously by him.
The food was fresh and beautifully presented.
The ambience was light and airy and relaxing with background jazz music playing.
Italian is all about dairy but they could add 1 or 2 nondairy dishes to the otherwise creative menu.
Definitely, Oliva is a great addition to the Savannah restaurant scene.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank healthyeater7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, must try”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This new place is fabulous. The Italian food is fresh and all made from scratch. Has several of the Italian staples but all with a creative twist. Owner/chef is lovely and pleasant with whom to chat. The location makes it easy find and convenient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatronFromVilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Italian delight”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Four of us went to the recently opened Oliva. Its location is terrific for a downtown restaurant as across the street is a city parking garage. The physical layout of the restaurant is peculiar, but perhaps interesting at the same time: If one enters on the street, there are a few tables with view of the kitchen; but if your table is upstairs, there are a lot of stairs to climb. On the other hand, if your table is upstairs, there is another entrance with a ready elevator.

The upstairs has numerous tables and a most attractive bar. I would suggest they depart from paper tabletop covers to linen.

The owner Juan Rodrigues is an experienced restaurateur, with successes at a small Rancho Alegre, then a large Rancho Alegre (both Cuban), and now Oliva, generally Italian. I forecast great success. He is often on site(s).

Our waiter was Chad, clearly an experience waiter and Headperson Front of the House. He steered us competently through the menu, was most congenial and attentive.

Chad admitted they are still working out kinks. For example, the bread was a focaccia and not good. The olive oil dip, also not good. They accepted criticism and vowed to fix.

The rest of the meal was outstanding. I had the mussels, which were some of the best in town; but the deep dish they were served in had too little of the delicious sauce for the size of the dish. (Ask for them to be served in a different dish.) I also had the Pate Ravioli of chicken livers, unique and excellent. My wife had the Grilled Eggplant with Peppers and we both thought it wonderful. Our friends had Lasagna and Fettuccine and both declared them tops. We all ordered their home made gelato and considered it the perfect end to a delicious meal.

This reviewer would place Oliva at the top of the local Italian scene, and it will be when the few kinks are out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliva Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing