We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tondee's Tavern

Tondee's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Tondee's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Drayton or Bull
Transit: within 2 blocks.
Description: Tondee's Tavern is located in haunted and very historic building in downtown Savannah. Origionally built in the 1850's as the bank for the central rail road of Geogia and later occupied by General Shermans forces on their historic march to the sea.Tondee's is known for their award winning fall of the bone Baby Back Ribs, that some travelers have discribed as "the best in the world." Also offered daily is local seafood and hand cut steaks that are made with Savannahs own local flavor. Tondee's is locally owned and also boast "Savannah's best Hamburger" that is again made daily with fresh ingredients. Great lunch specials, family friendly, local fresh daily, Happy hour 4-7 Monday thru Thursday. We will see you at Tondee's.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant for dinner one evening. It was nice and quite, not very busy which was nice for us and the food was really good. Family oriented as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    128
    71
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place!!! Great Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I read the reviews and saw that the problems seemed to be related to a very busy weekend. We decided to give it a try and I am glad that we did. We went there for lunch and had a very nice young lady wait on us. Our drinks were never empty and she checked back often. Our food did not take longer than normal at lunch time and it was excellent. The fish sandwich was very tasty with a nice bit of spice and our girls had the quesadilla and said it was excellent. The servings are large and I made the mistake of eating all of mine because it was so tasty. Had to eat a lite dinner because I was still full from lunch. So I guess the only problem appears to be when they are extremely busy because I sure did not find any problems.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonnieB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was our first time in Savannah with our four kids. The restaurant choices are almost too numerous. We finally settled on Tondee's Tavern and everyone was satisfied. While it may not have been the most fantastic meal we have ever had, it was excellent and a great value. The waitress suggested I try a Savannah favorite Shrimp and Grits and it was terrific. We were all very pleased with our meal and would go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MIjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Georgia
1 review
“Tondee's is a historic, friendly bar and restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Keya was my server at the bar this morning. I ordered the Tondee's combo on the breakfast menu and loved the blueberry pancakes. Keya made sure to keep my cup full. I enjoyed my experience there and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgiagirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Good location on Bay Street. Varied menu with a limited wine list and decent selection of beer. mixed drinks are reasonably priced but small.

The server was young but attentive.

Food was below par for a restaurant in Savannah. We were in town for New Years and did not see any locals. Apparently, they already knew that there are much better places nearby for the money.

We found Barracuda Bob's on River Street or Molly McPherson's on Congress Street to be a better choice for this class of establishment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William T, Owner at Tondee's Tavern, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your rewiew eventhough I found it to be very vague. "The server was young but attentive" Well did he or she do a good job or not? "The food was below par for a restaurant in Savannah" Compared to what? What did you have to eat? As an athority on food I am sure that you of all people understand that each person has a different taste pallot. Most people love our food and a few dont. I can only assume that you are one of the few in the minority, It is like that in every restaurant in the world. Everything that we do is fresh, and maybe you are not use to that. "No locals" Since you are obviously a restaurant critic, are you now also an authority on what locals look like? In Savannah they dont wear name tags that say "Hi I am local" maybe that is what they do where you are from. It is particurally discusting when people just take it upon thier selves to try and trash someone elses business. That is not what being a mature responsible adult with some trace of class is about. When I was young I was taught that if you dont have anything good to say, it is better to keep your mouth shut. Maybe you might want to take this as food for thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tondee's Tavern also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tondee's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing