We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad service”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #143 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Full service restaurant in the heart of Historic Downtown Savannah Georgia, with excellent crab, seafood and land lover favorites. Patio offers sweeping river front views. Fun and casual atmosphere for everyone. Reservations and Call ahead seating available.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was not our first time in a Joe's crab shack but this time was the worst. As the AC in the main room was too cold and the room too noisy for us, we asked for a table outside. Our waitress told us there wasn't any table available outside. I checked by myself (I was too cold and couldn't stay inside) and a lot of tables were free. So we decided to move outside by ourselves !
We were disappointed by the service but ask for a table outside on the great patio and you will see the huge and impressive cargo boats passing by on the Savannah river in a quiet and peaceful environment !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    155
    113
    67
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abq, NM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible food!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Worst crab cake ever. I returned my meal for a cheeseburger. I ordered burger medium and it came out well done. The fried seafood on the kids platter was spongy and tasted bad. Avoid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abq-Bustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good food bad service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We had to wait for a too ling time. In the meanwhile the waitress kept on asking like every ten minutes whether we 'd like to order more drinks while ours were still half full. Food was OK but not great. There are better places in Savannah to spend your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomWildenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, ga
1 review
“Poor Service, Undercooked Food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Poor Service, Undercooked Food last night. We've had Joe's in other states, so we already knew they had a great menu. However, this one in Savannah was a complete bummer. Our waitress did not come to our table for the first 15 minutes. As we watched the waiters dance to different dance tunes (yes, when certain songs come on they all come into the dining room and do a dance routine which might be cool if you are not starving and thirsty and hoping for service), we began to think maybe they forgot to assign someone to our table, as there was no shortage of waiters! Finally, she came, no apologies for the wait. Our food came 30 minutes later...with cold mashed potatoes, and undercooked rice and vegetables. We are not big on complaining but this was pretty bad. We let her know, but nothing was done, no apologies, nothing. My hubs was pretty shocked and did not want to leave a tip. I just couldn't do it, and we left a tip...but we will NEVER go back and we're letting all of our fellow military members staying here this month not to waste their money. Savannah has far to many great places to eat with far better food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awebb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“On the Riverfront”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great service, food was delicious. They get the customers involved when the waitresses do the cupid shuffle; everybody who wants to join in gets up and dance. Located right on the riverfront. Only been open for a few months.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CleanGirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing