We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring with Tony”

Savannah Walking Tours with Tony Higgins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Tony, Savannah's premier storyteller. Tony, a native of London, has combined his fascination of British and American history with his love for his adopted hometown - Savannah - to bring you stories that might make the city blush. Find out what really happened (and still does) on Savannah's tree-lined streets. See Savannah - "a vibrant and diverse city" - "a beautiful woman with a dirty face" - as only a local can show you!
Pooler, Georgia
1 review
“Touring with Tony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I loved the tour and the way Tony told the history of Savannah I just loved the way he described the houses and architecture of them too and the history comes alive when he tells it. I would recommend this over the carriage or trolley any day, He is a sweetie. Leaetta W.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeaettaWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Skip the trolley and take a walk with Tony Higgins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I took the "Hidden Savannah" walking tour with Mr. Higgins and loved it! He gave us insight into the history of Savannah and told us so many fun stories. After Mr. Higgins shared so many specific details and quirky stories, it is clear that a trolley or carriage tour would give you such a rushed, drive-by experience lacking true content. Mr. Higgin's tour on the other hand allows you to take in the scenery and fully experience Savannah and the history behind this great city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarst
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Higgins walking tour -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

an excellent raconteur of Savannahs history.
Giving lively examples of architecture and community-plannings .
Has a very charming british humor

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerardo239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Well Worth the Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The best way to find out about a city is to spend time with someone who knows the ins and outs. This is not your bland, 30 minute trolley tour, done at someone else's pace. My wife booked a walking tour with Tony Higgins this Spring and spent a delightful two and a half hours hours - never rushed - with Tony talking about all sorts of Savannah things. We discovered a host of things we never knew, and discovered corners of downtown Savannah to return to on our own. It was well worth the money. We highly recommend Tony and his tour.

Al & Rachel M.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Savannah walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this tour. Tony is not a typical tour guide. He really knows and understands the history of the region and indeed the United States and has an obvious passion for the subject. However, his tour is not the standard monologue of events. He brings history to life by recounting the stories of real people in an almost gossipy way that retained our attention for the whole 3 hours. Real value for money. We learned so much.
By the way, there wasn't much walking involved. So if you want to walk, tell Tony and see if he can adapt his route to accommodate you.
Lucy K, London

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Walking Tours with Tony Higgins also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing