We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sushi downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi-Zen

Sushi-Zen
Ranked #410 of 859 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good sushi downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Cute little place. All the sushi was pretty good, and if you like spicy things the nanban roll is a spicy sushi roll with a tasty dipping sauce. We also had an asparagus appetizer that was quite good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistent, classic and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Sushi Zen has been a downtown institution for over a decade. It has managed to maintain the same close and cozy atmosphere in both its former and current location. The core staff is friendly, though they have a high turnover on staff besides a few. The fish is always good quality and the staff is knowledgable. They also to continue to stay open late night on the weekends. One of the only two good sushi restaurants North of Gaston St.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food was good. Prices were higher compared to other sushi places we've been to and portion sizes were smaller.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lola20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Savannah!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We just moved here from Seattle. We know sushi REALLY well as we come from a place that has some of the best sushi chefs in the country. You won't find better than this in Savannah. We've tried, believe me. Is it perfect? Of course not, but for here, it's really good. The quality of the fish is excellent. The rice is well done. At home this would be considered good serviceable sushi. For here, it's great! The chef and staff have always been wonderful and humorous. Plus, he's the only Japanese sushi chef we've come across here as well. The rest have been South East Asians mostly. Yes, it makes a difference (training and cultural experience).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jedburgh392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Strangest sushi experience ever.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Never was served a deep-fried breaded chicken maki as part of a chef's omakase before. The boat, at $25, seemed like a deal - but the waitress was shocked when I ordered it for myself and not for the two of us. It came with an appetizer of chicken wings (?), gyoza, and seaweed salad, then the boat had two maki, three nigiri, and a small amount of sashimi, then a pre-packaged type of custard-y dessert. Not what I had hoped for.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank erb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi-Zen also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sushi-Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing