We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skidaway Island State Park
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The bathrooms were clean. Everytime we went to the office for anything everyone was nice and helpful. It was very family oriented and everyone was friendly. The rv spots were clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been to a lot of campgrounds and this is by far the most beautiful. Very shaded campground. Lots of tall trees shading your campsite. We didn't even need to put out our awning. Quiet campground. Great bike riding and hiking. Huge pull-through half circle campsites most with lots of privacy. Some sites have sewer but they wanted to charge $10 more per day for sewer and none of the sewer sites included the free (22 channels) cable so we chose to go without sewer since just there a short time and they had a dump station. Looked like they were in the process of adding cable to all the campsites. When you check in they give you a piece of paper with your name and checkout date on it to clip to the site number outside the site that you choose after you drive around to find the site you like that is vacant. They will let you know which ones have the sewer that cost more. Good to ask them which sites don't have cable as some were out of order when we were there. Lots of campsites to choose from. All sites have a huge elevated framed in dirt area for tents and each site has a picnic table and fire ring. They also have cabins you can rent, some wheelchair accessible. Skidaway Island is a very nice area and less than a half hour from downtown Savannah. We really enjoyed out visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Skidaway is one of the best campgrounds I've ever seen. The sites are large, so you feel a little privacy. There are lots of big trees. The bathrooms and showers are clean. They keep the place maintained. The park itself offers lots to do. You will enjoy a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We camped here with some friends and thought it was a very pretty campground! If you have a 40' MH some of the 50 amps are hard to come by due to the re-do of some of the sites. There were tents in some of the 50 amp sites. Shame you can reserve a spot. We saw deer in the mornings while drinking coffee. I hate to say but we never walked the trails they have there. Be sure to go eat at Driftways! Awesome food! Ate there 3 times! Tuna tar tar on the appie is awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank mauropinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#23 of 114 in Savannah
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skidaway Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skidaway Island State Park

Address: 52 Diamond Cswy, Savannah, GA 31411-1102
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Savannah
Price Range: $25 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near historic Savannah, this park borders Skidaway narrows, a part of Georgia’s intracoastal waterway. Trails wind through maritime forest and past salt marsh, leading to a boardwalk and observation tower. Visitors can watch for deer, fiddler crabs, raccoon, egrets and other wildlife. Inside the park’s interpretive center, birders will find binoculars, reference books and a window where they can look for migrating species such as Painted Buntings. Children will especially enjoy seeing the towering, 20-foot Giant Ground Sloth replica and reptile room. A scenic campground is nestled under live oaks and Spanish moss, while groups can enjoy privacy in their own pioneer campgrounds. Open-air picnic shelters and an enclosed group shelter are popular spots for parties, reunions and other celebrations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing