We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Georgia State Railroad Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #30 of 213 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
Waynesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit but will never go during the hottest part of the year. Got to ride on the train. Great for train enthusiasts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dana123-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    202
    54
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The negative reviews are from those that did not appreciate the museum for what it is. It is great btw!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

My kids 10,6 & 2 loved this as well as my husband & me! Very cool to see all the trains, tools & history! Not an all day visit...prob spent about 2 hrs & then headed to the children's museum next door. Great value & something enjoyable for the kids. The negative reviews are no doubt from those that need adrenaline & none stop entertainment. Self guided tour for those that appreciate it for what it has to offer....trains & history!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the best for smaller children”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We took our two small kids, and while there was the train ride and the trains in the roundhouse to look at, that was about it for them. A small kid won't care about the history or what the smokestack was used for or that there used to be a bunch of boilers in a particular room. My husband and I found that interesting, but as this was more for the kids than is, it fell short. There were a couple model train tracks, but one was under construction and the other only had one very short train on a huge track so it was hard to find where the train was. I did like how knowledgeable the your guide was, she did great. We got some great info on the things that have happened there and its history, and an interesting tour of two luxury train cars. Overall, while I personally enjoyed it, I don't feel it's enough to hold a small kid's attention, so maybe hold off until they're older and have a longer attention span or more interest in the history behind the trains.

Helpful?
1 Thank timofmylif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We hopped off for a minute and stayed for over 3 hours...”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We absolutely loved this museum. We were on a hop on/hop off tour of Savannah, and our 6-year old son wanted to hop off here. We hopped off to humor him, but it ended up being the highlight of our day in Savannah for all of us. First, the staff is so passionate about trains and the restoration work they are doing, you can't help but get excited about trains - even though I previously had no real interest in them. Our "tour guide," Bill, was a former journalist who now volunteers at the Museum. He is extremely knowledgeable about both trains and this history of the roundhouse. He gave a handcar demonstration, and all who wanted to could operate the handcar for a ride. Then we went on a steam engine ride - short but informative, and they demonstrated how the roundhouse worked while we were on the train, so we were on the train as it moved, which the children liked. Then, Bill gave us a tour of the locomotives and showed us the restoration work that they are undertaking. So many people stayed on the tour that they decided to also give us a tour of the Executive Cars, even though there was not a tour scheduled while we were there. The best things about this museum is that a) it is very much a "hands on" museum - the staff removed the "do not climb on this" signs so that we could explore the train cars - and they made everything accessible - not off limits, although obviously they pointed out where we needed to exercise caution and b) the staff is wonderful and Bill, in particular, had such a passion and excitement for sharing his knowledge that his enthusiasm for trains and history was contagious. We ended up staying at this site for 3 1/2 hours - far longer than we thought we would. There is also a children's museum there, but it closed by the time we were done with the railroad museum. For us, this was definitely worth the stop, and we hope that they succeed in their continued restoration efforts. Most of this tour is outside, so if you are not a fan of heat and humidity, standing, walking, the smell of steam engines, or the accessibility of grime, this will not be for you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri-Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Snoozer!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Everything was under construction. Nothing to look at or explore unless you came at a time that there was a tour going on. Not worth your time or money!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 828traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing