We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attraction”

Georgia State Railroad Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #30 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

There are plenty of activities and attractions inside the museum gate: self-guided and guided tours of rolling stock and grounds, short train tours of the grounds by steam or diesel depending on season, model railroading exhibit, and a bookstore. Site presents an excellent balance of social history and industrial history/archaeology interpreted through several wayside exhibits and scores of artifact exhibits throughout the property. What the site may lack in rolling stock is offset by the stabilization and restoration of many buildings in the shop complex and terminal facility. If you want a special treat be sure to request a "cab ride" on the No. 30 steam locomotive - coal smoke, cinders, steam, heat, loud whistle, and excellent interpretation by the engineer and fireman. Also remember to take a short ride on the hand car. Had as much fun as the kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RovingRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! You seem to have enjoyed the full range of GSRM's offerings, and we hope you will visit us again next time you are in Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    198
    54
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deatsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed the tour of the rail cars and the train ride. My husband got a kick out of all the old equipment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdoresSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are so happy that you had a good experience at GSRM! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My children and I had a wonderful time!!!!!! Our tour guide was awesome!! I recommend The Georgia State Railroad Museum to everyone. I love the history!!!!!!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BriBri1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our museum! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at GSRM, and we hope you will come and see us again next time you are in Savannah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyndeborough
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Saving the Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

With another couple we recently toured the Railroad Museum. Hubbies are RR buffs and they had a grand time looking at the engines around the round house and exploring the old buildings. It was fun for us all to go through the actual cars. We were fascinated by the idea of RR yard crews creating gardens for relaxation and competing with other yard gardens! A giant lathe held the men's attention for quite some time. Fun but short visit. We wish them well on their ongoing search for funding. This is no different than any other worthwhile old RR sites we visit regularly in New England. We were pleased to support their efforts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the museum! Thank you for your review, and we hope you will visit us again as we expand our exhibit space and programming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosford, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kids will love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Riding the steam train is definitely the highlight of the visit. Small, but rich in information and exhibits. Awesome to wak in and out of the train cars. Overall fun for children and people who enjoy historical exhibits. $16 for one adult, one child. Kind of pricey for the 45 minutes we spent there, but I understand it's part of the historical society and need the funding to keep the doors open.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyGeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at GSRM, and we hope you will return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing