We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Georgia State Railroad Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #35 of 221 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Lots a space outside for roaming and things to look at for both kids and adults alike. Historic american flag w/ 13 stars waves out front.

Thank jdlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks so much for your visit and your review! We hope you'll come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"train ride"
in 51 reviews
"steam engine"
in 43 reviews
"love trains"
in 29 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 27 reviews
"rail cars"
in 26 reviews
"round house"
in 23 reviews
"train lovers"
in 17 reviews
"working turntable"
in 10 reviews
"executive car"
in 9 reviews
"machine shop"
in 8 reviews
"hand cart"
in 6 reviews
"restored cars"
in 6 reviews
"train fans"
in 6 reviews
"great attraction"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 15 reviews
"great for kids"
in 8 reviews
"guided tour"
in 20 reviews
Filter

521 - 525 of 612 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a small museum with a lot of local history, including a section devoted to Juliette Gordon Low. There is also some military history and some natural history. There is a large parking lot, as this is also where you pick up the hop on/hop off tours.

Thank MissLaughsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review! It sounds like you saw the Savannah History Museum as well, which is part of the Tricentennial Park like us. Fun fact: Juliette Gordon Low's grandfather, William Washington Gordon, founded what would later become the Central of Georgia Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really cool restorations going on. I learned a lot about railroads I did not know. Would love to have the opportunity to take a longer ride one day. The volunteers and staff were helpful, the experience was worth it. The only thing I wish we could have done was to ride in a restored passenger car, perhaps one day. Amazing how much goes into running a railway station.

Thank 3MommaMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review! It sounds like you got to enjoy our site tour by rail, and we do have long-term plans to extend the rail across the viaduct for a longer ride. We are looking forward to it as well. Hope to see you again in the future so you can check on our progress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent example of old world craftsmanship. Plenty of cars and locomotives to tour and ride. Lots of old buildings and equipment to wander through. Great for Railroad lovers and just the casual observer too. A lot of history, and a beautiful area.

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dave, thank you for your kind review. We are glad you made time for us on your visit to Savannah. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I graded it 'average' because the long process of restoration has only just begun. But they've got a lot good going for this historic attraction.

Lots of volunteer effort behind this, as there always is. City of Savannah has gotten behind the project and is supporting it. But finances that are so desperately needed to manage an undertaking as huge as this one are typically limited.

Guide told us that the yard was going to be demolished (had already started) until a local group mobilized to save it. That's usually what it takes to preserve history for our grandkids and future generations.

They've made some smart, strategic moves, cleaning the many buildings up and starting restoration bit-by-bit, while making sure there are activities, etc. to attract visitors (and revenue).

Now, I'm not an avid 'train guy' at all. Interested, but not passionate.

Went there because I'd pretty much walked myself out in historic Savannah, and had a bit of time to kill before heading for the airport to fly home.

Timed it perfectly for the site tour on a train. Restored, coal loco pulled a passenger car. What was really cool was they put us on the turntable, and swung the train around to align with a track heading for the coalyard to pick up some coal. Then back to the turntable, and another turn to another track, to take us into the paint house.

Rest was on foot, walking around, poking into the blacksmith shop, tender shop, etc etc.

Tour included a walk through a couple of 'office cars' - I had to skip because of limited time but heard some good comments from others.

Lots of restored locomotives, cars ... many more waiting to be restored. You can't climb the equipment, logically enough ... safety among other reasons.

Shows great promise as the restoration continues. To emphasize this is both restoration of the buildings and site AND restoration of rolling stock and equipment.

Modest fee of $10 is good for three days. I'd suggest they start bumping that up gradually as the restoration continues to raise more revenues.

Thank TO_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your thorough review! We're glad you made the site tour by train and had the opportunity to look around the premises. The executive office cars and hopefully more attractions will be waiting for you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing