We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and enjoy from the young to the young at heart.”

Georgia State Railroad Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #30 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
1 review
“Relax and enjoy from the young to the young at heart.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 generations, from 3 1/2 to 53. Great fun wondering thru the exhibits and with the children's museum being on the same grounds, a day of fun and learning awaits.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rindaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Wow! We are glad you brought so many generations of the family at the same time. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    198
    54
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ok.....”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our two-year-old daughter there, not knowing much about the place. We were told it would cost $26 for all of us to go, which seemed very expensive for a small museum and the fact that they charged us for a toddler. I asked the guy at the counter if it was good for small children, and he blandly asked, "well does she like trains?" I nodded yes and he replied, "well there ya go." Clearly he didn't have kids and he could have been a little more personable in my opinion. We went anyway though, and while the trains that we did manage to see on the self-guided tour were pretty amazing, there were only a few. Most of them were locked and reserved for the guided tours which I think took place only twice that day. Also, the train ride was at 1:30pm, and we were there around 11, so we didn't get to do that. All in all I would say go if you have a train enthusiast or history buff, small child or not, and make sure you get the times of the tours before you get there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sds624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So sorry you missed the train ride and some of the tours. We do try to let people into the executive office cars off-schedule when time permits, but we have to keep an eye on the period silver and china so they can't remain open all day. We hope you come back again the next time you are in town to see the rest of what we have to offer. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Sample of Railroad History”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Georgia State Railroad Museum has a nice sampling of old and new in the way of railroading. The museum has some totally restored pieces and some that are being worked on. They have train rides but confirm schedules before arriving. The information we found on their website said there was an 11am ride on the day we went, but when we got there, they said there was only a 1pm ride. Also, this is mostly outside - so keep that in mind if it is a hot day. May want to save for a cool day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveFLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So sorry about the scheduling confusing! Hopefully next time you are in town, our schedules will coincide. Feel free to give us a call to confirm the schedule for tours, activities, and train rides. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just a great place!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Take your kids, or take you husband. This place was just COOL! It's where the railroad used to end, so you can imagine how impressive it is to walk through and see the old rail cars. Then, ride a real train, pulled by a locomotive, for a short tour of the grounds. They are restoring the place, so try not to be disappointed. The guide was great and entertaining, and clearly likes his job. It will take about an hour. Be sure on the way out to visit the memorial of the revolutionary war. It's sobering and impressive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We do aim to please, and hope you'll be back because, as you said, we are still in the process of restoring and expanding everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“such a let down”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went on a rainy day, and we went late in the day, so that may have effected our time at this museum. It was also undergoing renovations. However, the entire museum consisted of self guided tours through 5 railroad carts, none of which were very exciting in all honesty, and then guided tours through three or four other carts, but there was only one going on the entire day and we missed it... my son (7) loves trains and thought this was the 'lamest place ever'. What a wasted hour (because that's as long as it took to walk through the entire place). Oh, and there was no actual train ride.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So sorry to hear your visit was less than stellar. The weather down here can put a crimp in plans, but we hope you will give us a call ahead the next time you are in town to help you plan a visit around the various tours of train engines, executive office cars, blacksmith shop, steam power demonstration, hand car activity, and all the rest. The train doesn't run everyday, but it does run! You can double check the schedule on our website (chsgeorgia.org) or check out our Facebook page. We hope you give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing