We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-See”

Georgia State Railroad Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Old Fort Jackson Helicopter Tour
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah and Whitemarsh Island Helicopter Tour
Ranked #33 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Must-See”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This museum has several walkable train cars, buildings, tour and short train ride. Lots to see and do. If you purchase the 3-site multi-pass, you can also walk about one block over to the Savannah History Museum (leave your car at the railroad museum, which saves on parking).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so glad you rated us a "Must-See!" We would love to see you again the next time you are in town, hopefully with more developments to share. Feel free to follow us on Facebook to keep abreast of our news. We're always working on something new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    210
    60
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

There was so much to see and do, including a tour and short train ride. Plan to spend about 2-3 hours here. They are currently renovating additional areas to add to the museum. I am eager to return to this site in a few years.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your time at the museum, and we do hope you'll visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the free train ride”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The walk through train cars are interesting. The tour of the locked cars couldn't be done because the keys to get into them were lost. Being on the train and getting to experience the turn table was great but the rest of the train "trip" left much to be desired. The 30min was taken up by mostly talking. Once they are able to expand the experience we would like to go back. The fact that what has been saved of the roundhouse is great! It's an important part of our history that needs to stay preserved as long as possible. What drew me in was the fact that parts of the movie Glory were shot here. It's worth the visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcraig67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Z, GSRM Employee at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I do hope you will come back again to see the executive office cars, and we are all looking forward to the day we can expand the site tour over the viaduct for a more extensive train ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fantastic For Kids Who Love Trains (Adults, Too)”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We took our 2-1/2 year old son who loves trains to the museum, and he absolutely loved it. Admission was $10/adult and $6/children, and there were options to buy passes for admission to other Georgia State Museums and the Savannah Children's Museum.

Once you go into the Railroad Museum, you can walk through box cars, cabooses, sleeper and worker cars and refrigerator cars. There is not a lot to it, but if you have children who love trains, they will get a kick out of it.

There are other parts of the museum with steam and diesel engines, and other outbuildings like a blacksmith shop, model train rooms and other interesting things to see. If you are a train enthusiast, you could spend hours here.

The best part of the visit was the very friendly people who worked there. Just great guys who are retired and help support the restoration of engines and cars and the preservation of an era in railroad history. One gentleman in particular said hello while we were looking at engines, and we struck up a conversation. After a train-ride tour (about 20 minutes) of the yard, he brought our son into the engine and let him ring the train's bell and toot the locomotive's horn. It made our son's day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at GSRM, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure - you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to this museum on a whim and it ended up being one of the best things we did in Savannah. The museum is well laid out, large and has good signage explaining what you are looking at.

They give tours of Executive cars and explain how they would've been used but the best part is the site tour by train. They hook up a diesel engine to a passenger car and once everyone is on board, they use the roundtable to rotate the train and line it up with 2 different tracks on the grounds. A tour guide explains what you are looking at and explains how the railroad worked in the late 1800's.

The really cool part was seeing the roundtable and how that works. There are only a handful still working in the US and this is your change to see one in action and actually ride in a train on the roundtable.

Cost to get in was $10/per person and worth every penny. All exhibits and attractions were included in your ticket price - no hidden extras.

We were two 40+ year olds and we were having just as much fun as the kids on the train. The museum is big enough and spread out over numerous buildings that you never feel like you can't see or get to an exhibit.

Overall, a highly enjoyable experience and I would recommend to anyone looking to spend a few hours doing some different.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your experience, and thanks for the review! A ride on our fully operational turntable is a unique highlight of any visit to our museum. Hope you'll be able to return in the future to check out our progress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing