We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic & Awesome”
Review of Sweet Spice

Sweet Spice
Ranked #73 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a restaurant that offers authentic caribbean and american cuisine.Our goal is to share the caribbean exotic flavors all over the world..
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic & Awesome”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

So glad we found this place. Awesome authentic food. Friendly staff. We will definitely be making another trip through Savannah just to visit. I had the ox tail, rice and peas and plantains. My husband had the jerk chicken. Highly recommend both. They also make their own punches in house.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy244B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    84
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Jamaican”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a GREAT little authentic Jamaican restaurant hidden away from the hustle & bustle of the old part of Savannah! The staff were so friendly & family-like, it gave the down home feel. The sampler plate was perfect for those wanting to experience a slice of Jamaica! Ox tail cooked perfect! Jerk chicken was like I remember ordering from Jamaican street vendors - very flavorful! Goat was falling apart perfection! Flavors were all there & is definitely a must go to for your Caribbean fix!

Helpful?
Thank atprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“WOW”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have visited Jamaica many times and this is as close as it gets. The plantain is amazing and the jerk chicken falls off the bone. They have a special sauce they make and it is incredible. The price is great and the staff is super friendly. Cant go wrong with this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Caribbean food, mostly Jamaican”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Only one of the cooks was in the dining area when we arrived (eating a meal) and I was worried an empty place means it can't be all that good but it was and a number of customers arrived between 7 and 8 pm on a weeknight.
I had jerk turkey, available during the holidays and it was pleasantly spicy but not too hot. The sides I chose, plantains and beans and rice were fine, not just something to fill the plate, and I finished it all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drillisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A small jewel!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Please, don't let the outward appearance of this place fool you. Mr. Smith's food is phenomenonal! The prices are quite reasonable. The menu offers a great sampler option of 3 meat selections, starch, & veggie for the newbies to Jamaican cuisine. I probably ate the best ever Jamaican beef patties of my life at this restaurant. We also had an opportunity to meet Mr. Smith & thank him for the wonderful food. #1 ranking of restaurants in Savannah on tripadvisor.com is well deserved!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Spice also viewed

Pooler, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sweet Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing