We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B even non-B&B people will love!”
Review of Zeigler House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Savannah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zeigler House Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
TN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The B&B even non-B&B people will love!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We are nearing our 4th trip to Savannah and our 4th stay at the Zeigler House Inn and I realized I don't think I have done a review of this fantastic place. Shame on me!

My husband and I love the extra amenities that come with a B&B, but we also like our privacy and don't really love the communal aspects of a typical B&B experience. Jackie at the Zeigler House Inn caters to both! You can stay in an upstairs room in the main house and have the full-on B&B experience, as she lives on site, or you can stay in one of 3 rooms on the street level of the house. Each of these have a private street entrance and a private patio. Because breakfast is in your room at Zeigler House Inn, you can make your experience as private or as social as you'd like it to be, depending on your own personality and preferences.

There are too many wonderful things about this inn, so I'll try to hit the highlights that keep us coming back for each visit to Savannah:
- Beautiful historic Inn with large, well appointed rooms
- Very lovely and comfortable common areas upstairs include a beautiful covered porch; a "snack" room that always has desserts and a coffee bar and on Friday & Saturday evenings hosts complimentary wine and a buffet of freshly made appetizers. Evening port and sherry are also available; and a cozy living room.
- Rooms are large, reasonably priced, beautiful, have kitchenettes and large baths, and unbelievable feather beds with wonderfully soft bedding.
- Street level rooms offer privacy, private entrances, and private patios.
- Each room comes stocked with more snacks than you can eat (crackers, candy, pretzels, fresh fruit, juices, sodas, water, coffee, milk, yogurt, bagels/english muffins, etc.).
- Each afternoon Jackie bakes you 3 boxes of delicious baked goods for the following morning's breakfast.
- Location is ideal - walking distance to everything.
- Private parking behind the Inn.
- Jackie herself is FANTASTIC and will give you as much attention or privacy as you desire.
- Always find fresh flowers in the room.
- The food, the food, the food, the food. Yum!

Our first visit was March 2009. We returned in July 2010 and again in October 2010. We stayed in the Provence Room on our first visit (loved it) and in the Lafayette Room on our second and third visits (loved it more!). Our 4th visit is coming up and we'll be in the French Country Room. If you are looking for a romantic, comfortable, delicious place to stay, I don't think you'll do better than the Zeigler House Inn.

Room Tip: French Country, Provence, and Lafayette Rooms offer more privacy (private entrances and private pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    22
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
251
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. As had been said before, the pastries are great. It is not your typical B&B, since breakfast is sort of continental. You have your own kitchen with a very well stocked fridge and several sorts of home made pastries are placed there in the late afternoon for you to enjoy in the morning. We did sleep rather late, so we enjoyed it? The decorations were splendid.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KiddocDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

From the moment I walked into the lobby and saw the side board loaded with homemade baked goods and coffee and tea and the welcoming hostess, Jackie, I knew I had found a gem. We arrived at 6, just in time for wine and cheese In the comfortable yet period perfect Savannah dining room. Our room was street level and not only had a huge sitting area but also its own private garden where we had breakfast in the morning from our stocked fridge. Jackie, it turns out, is a baker extraordinaire, whose wonderful and efficient staff brought fresh baked goods to our room every day. The location was perfect, a short walk from Forsythe Park, and we could not have been happier. I could have stayed forever! Oh, and when our hostess found out it was my birthday, she brought cupcakes to our room with a happy birthday card. Now, that's service!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Zeigler House Inn the first weekend in March. It was wonderful! The room was beautiful with fresh cut flowers and wonderful baked goods each day by Jackie. The location was within walking distance to everything. This was great! We would definitely recommend and stay here next time we visit Savannah! If you want to be within walking distance to everything downtown, want a beautiful, but comfortable room, and wonderful treats and amenities...this inn is for you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum6790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend in Savannah to celebrate my birthday early and were so very delighted to find this Beautiful B&B! This was our first time in Savannah and at B&B. Jackie the owner, was an absolutely wonderful hostess! She sat with us as soon as we arrived and pulled out a nice map and started explaining the area and places to visit and see and where to eat. She showed us the parlor and our room. We stayed in the French Country room. I loved the King size bed, the stocked fridge, whirlpool tub, the delicious pastries and the semi-private terrace in our room. Anytime we needed anything we were able to contact Jackie on her cell. She made sure our stay was perfect.The only negative about this room is it is on street level next to the stairs to the main floor, so you can hear people walking by. It wasn't too noisy, but for light sleepers, it could be an issue. But we would stay there again. This home is in the perfect location and walking distance to many places to visit and restaurants. We LOVED our quick stay at this beautiful home and felt at home. We loved the special attention! No more hotels for us. :))

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyannsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My friends and I have been coming to Jackie's for five years now. We come every year and as soon as we leave, we start looking forward to coming back the next year. Jackie is a WONDERFUL hostess (and baker!!). We love her and her house. It is a beautiful home that is a perfect location for all of the sights of Savannah. I cannot stress enough how amazing this place is...

Room Tip: Street level rooms (where we stay) are extremely cozy and charming. Upstairs rooms are a little big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our third visit to the Zeigler House Inn and would not dream of staying at any other bed and breakfast. Jackie, the owner, is a perfect hostess and a fanastic baker! She is very knowledgeable about all the wonderful things Savannah has to offer and she is always eager to help arrange anything we ask. The house is gorgeous and close enough to the sights that we rarely drive anywhere. We love coming back after a day of sightseeing to find the most delicious baked goods waiting in our room. The extras Jackie places in each room is much appreciated and includes a refrigerator filled with a variety of drinks, a bowl of fresh fruit, and yummy little chocolates. The room is always very clean and the spacious bathroom is fantastic! We think the world of Jackie and highly recommend the Zeigler House Inn to anyone we know that is heading to Savannah.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBrown1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Armstrong Inns Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeigler House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeigler House Inn

Property: Zeigler House Inn
Address: 121 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top value and extraordinary comforts of Savannah’s privileged gentlefolk are enjoyed at Zeigler House Inn, a stately lumber-magnate's mansion turned top-tier mini-hotel / B&B. Magnificently placed along legendary Jones Street in the Savannah historic district, room rates include Jackie's (daily) mini la pastisserie magasin [Pastry Shop] style dessert bar, in-room breakfast (perhaps in bed, featuring sweet and savory breakfasts, fruit, yogurt), plus snacks, beverages & parking. Add pre-dinner appetizers Friday and Saturday only. Unique tour packages and ultimate privacy are the hallmarks! Seven (7) extraordinarily roomy accommodations, each with full- or mini-kitchen, feature plush custom beds, al fresco spaces, and whirlpool baths. Golfer & caterer-turned-innkeeper Jackie Heinz fascinates guys, gals, and couples with a triple experience – sultry Savannah’s southern / generous hospitality and beautiful backdrop, curated French-themed sleep retreats and French pastries, plus more European (German and Austrian) heritage. Jackie will share recipes and invites the media. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zeigler House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing