We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sage - CLOSED

Sage
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sage opened April 4, 2012. A small but impressive restaurant.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Small and friendly, the food is worth the price. Interesting vegetarian and fish dishes. The mushrooms are a must try. Wait staff is well trained and helpful. The Mahi Mahi is excellent and the flan is wonderful as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripping2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    8
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

So my wife and I stumbled upon this place at lunch and we were invited in by a young woman named Gerry. Boy, were we in for a treat. The quaint place is so nicely decorated. So much character and very comfortable. For lunch we had the portobello burger and the chicken orzo. Wow! Amazing! Gerry hung out with us and chatted through lunch. She told us about other places to go and places to eat, however we like Sage so much that we made reservations for dinner.

As good as lunch was, dinner was even better. We both got the paella. Some of the best paella that I've ever had. Our waiter brought us a great bottle of wine and only charged us for the less expensive bottle. A very nice gesture. The chrf even came out to talk yo us and we chatted gor quite a while. He seemed very passionate about good and using only fresh items. It's not touristy at all and it seemed like a lot of locals eat there. This was our favorite dining experience in GA.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tpardoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, ga
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous little find in fab city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Small, intimate atmosphere. The food has a Spanish/Mediterranian/Continental flavor! The prices are extremely reasonable which makes the experience all the better. The wait staff is very professional and knowledgeable about the wine offerings. It has moved up to my favorite restaurant in Savannah! A great little find and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcarpenter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A little Spanish fare in Savannah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a small hard to find restaurant but well worth the search. It is a trendy place with a Spanish flare. I had a Mahi Mahi dish that was very good and my wife had a mussel paella. Service was gods and people were friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank standingj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Terrific Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I virtually stumbled on this small friendly upscale restaurant for a late lunch downtown today. The main dining room is attractive in a kind of French Bistro style and has only 4 tables and 10 or so seats at the bar. But they also have a loft overlooking the dining room with more tables. It is at 43 Whitaker just north of Broughton. We met the proprietor, Chris Zinaich who was previously involved in several other fine restaurants locally. He was very accommodating, and so was Gerry Lee, our waitress. We ordered the Shrimp & Risotto and the Beef Kabab with Orzo lemon salad. We have never had Orzo cold but it was a very tasty lemon salad with onions, peppers, zucchini and mushrooms. The beef was marinated, tender and cooked medium as we requested. I had six large shrimp with a delightful Risotto made with a hint of Pesto. Both were to die for. Oh, I almost forgot about the bread sticks which were super. We had a wine and a beer but they seem to have a full bar. We will be coming back soon for dinner because their dinner menu looks great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oakridge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing