We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night Stand” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relax Inn
Ranked #102 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One Night Stand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Checked in for one night on trip to Florida. Friendly owner, inexpensive room. $40.00 / nite so don't expect too much. Room is large but somewhat worn out. It needs a thorough cleaning in my estimation. Bathtub and toilet especially. Hairs on tub and back of toilet. Overall - a bit dingy and musty smelling.
Clean towels, TV, iron available in room. WiFi included.
Great location 9 miles from I-95. FYI - If you use a GPS for travel be careful. My Garmin Nuvi had me driving south on I-95 and had me exit at Exit 109 which took me almost an hour in HEAVY traffic to find place. Use Exit 94.
Place is close to shopping and local restaurants all in walking distance. Try Logans Roadhouse next door.
I was travelling alone so it was OK for my quick stay. Don't think my wife would have stayed had she been with me.
But if fairness - for $40.00 you can't expect a five star place.
Oh yes -the place is pretty quiet with one exception - On Friday morning at 550am the city gargage truck arrived - sounded like we were under attack. Owner said he has asked them to come later but no luck. Just FYI

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottLesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxinnsavannah, Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
We would like to apologize for the unfortunate experience you had with your stay with us. We have taken steps to insure this does not happen again. The garbage pick-up has been re-scheduled to a later time so as not to disturb the guests in the morning. We have received confirmation from Waste Management that this will begin immediately. We have also taken steps to insure that the housekeeping staff be more diligent in the room cleaning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    12
    23
    14
See reviews for
27
49
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

First, I want to say my husband and I only book this hotel because trip advisor gave it such great reviews! Boy were we fooled! We were searching for an inexpensive, yet clean room to stay in Savannah that was short distance to historical district. We only needed a room for five nights..so needless to say, we werent looking for a swimming pool, gym, breakfast...etc
Upon arrival of this "hotel" we realized by outside "exterior" rooms, this place was in bad shape...small lobby, not attached to hotel..and hotel (although only 15min drive to historic district) was in a wierd/bad location..huge brick wall seperated the rooms from a local bar. Rooms did have microwave and frig..but you can get that pretty much anywhere! TV was old, and room was covered in dust and grime...Most importantly, we sucked it up...until the second to last night we were there...the rooms are quite obvioulsy used for people to drink and do drugs in...(loud music at night) people sitting in their cares smoking weed (wth)....and than they leave in the morning and new people come in..yikes..I say this because we had a woman covered in SCABS come and knock on our door at 10p.m. and ask us "IF WE NEEDED ANYTHING...LIKE CRACK" from her! That was our last night! Also, the room service people bang on your doors..and say "room service" like its a hold up..and their going to kick the doors in..loud and scary! The owner/lobby people refunded us our last night...which by the way was $46 a night! She said there were camera's on the place when I told her about our inccident..to which I replied "than watch them"!
There is/are a chain of hotels called the "La Quinta's" that are right down the road for close to same price-difference of $5-$10...thats were we went and they were very nice rooms! Clean and comfy, and safe!!! One Laquinta lon left side of highway..exterior rooms with free breakfast $49...and a Laquinta on right side of highway..interior rooms, swimming, free breakfast...really nice $ 65...definetely worth it! Also, if you want to stay in the Downtown historic district near river street and bay...the Holiday Inn express about $100...inexpensive and nice!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxinnsavannah, Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2010
We apologize for your experience you had on your visit with us. We would have appreciated it if you had notified the front office at the time of the incident so that we could have taken care of it immediately. The management does not allow any illegal activities on the premises, and if there was suspicion of such activities, we would notify authorities immediately of the situation for the safety and peace of mind of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Savannah hotels

El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

Booked this on the basis of the reviews. Very disappointed in the rooms. First room had a bug in bath, second room slightly better but overall both rooms were old and run down. My advise keep driving by.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capetraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxinnsavannah, Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
We would like to apologize for the problem that occurred when you visited our establishment. We take pride in providing a clean and comfortable accommodation. We are sorry that a flying insect got into your room after you checked in. We were glad to change the room for you and have checked the room to insure that were no other insects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

I like most was a little scared of what we would get for the price. We were wonderfully suprised. The rooms were very clean,great location and the owner was great. He was very helpful. We loved the hotel and price so much we stayed extra nights. We stayed 4 nights when we were only going to stay 2. If we didn't want to drive in traffic we just walked next door to a great place called Logans Roadhouse. Food there is great. We are planning another trip this May because we missed somethings to see. WE plan on staying here again and bringing friends with us to enjoy beautiful Savannah..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxinnsavannah, Manager at Relax Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2010
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you extended your stay. We will be honored to serve you and friends on your return. Thank you for your valued response. Our commitment is always to give quality service at a fair price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge,ma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just wonderful! Made all the difference to our stay in Savannah. The rooms are meticulously maintained and spotlessly clean, the location is ideal (only 15 mins to down town Savannah) and Kiran and his wife are friendly, hospitable and incredibly efficient. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johndmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed for one night and found the Relax Inn to be a good deal. It is centrally located for touring Savannah. It appears the owner tends to place the first guests towards the rear away from the highway noise. But like many motels in tourist
areas guests tend to arrive at all hours and so there is still noise outside the room at 1-2 in the morning. If you are travelling along 95 and want a clean economical one night stop where you can take advantage of a great tourist town, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triste037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay. It is centrally located near restaurants, malls and grocery stores. The #14 bus runs a few steps away from the hotel and takes you down to the Historic District and to the Greyhound bus station. I always have a place to stay away from home. Keep up the good service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAYUnionCity_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
8.5 mi away
Motel 6 Savannah - South
Motel 6 Savannah - South
#97 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#92 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#79 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#56 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
7.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#87 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Inn

Property: Relax Inn
Address: 11211 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-1823
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Relax Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relax Inn is a cosy little inn that offers exceptional service, and clean comfortable accomodations at a price that will allow you to enjoy the rest of your trip. The Inn is located 10 minutes from Historic Savannah, the International Trade Center and Convention Center, and 20 minutes from beautiful Tybee Island. The Inn is centered around fine dining such as Olive Garden, Outback Steakhouse, Logan's Roadhouse and Tangerine Fusion and Sushi Bar all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Relax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relax Hotel Savannah
Relax Motel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing