We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of a.Lure

a.Lure
Reserve with OpenTable
a.Lure is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 857 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Jefferson
Description: Located in the heart of the historic downtown City Market area, a.lure is an exciting new addition to the Savannah restaurant scene. Chef Greg Silver's contemporary American Cuisine with Low Country twists complements a.lure's rustic modern ambiance. Our local farm-to-fork philosophy is supplemented by thoughtful plating of regionally sourced ingredients, thoughtful presentation and creative flavor combinations. Savannah clams, oysters, local crab meat, and fresh Georgia shrimp are just a few of the local items on our menu, as well as premium steaks, regional and Niman Ranch pork products, scallops from Maine, and Wagyu beef. We transform these wonderful ingredients into exciting dishes ranging from Low Country influenced offerings to globally inspired fare. Superb service and a gem from our ever expanding wine list will complete an amazing dining experience. Our goal at a.lure is to anticipate all of your needs and to exceed all your expectations.
Battersea, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First rate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This restaurant does everything well. The service was friendly and professional (thanks Emily!). The decor is attractive. And, most importantly, the food is very good! I had the shrimp and grits and my wife had the seafood ravioli. Both were excellent. The wine selection is good and covers a range of prices. We would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    236
    71
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, New Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located near City Market, this brand-new restaurant is superb. A pleasant, warm greeting welcomed us to this small, sleek, sophisticated spot. The staff was knowledgable and courteous; the food creative with a contemporary spin on traditional dishes, including Southern favorites. The "for the table" house made potato chips with blue cheese fondue were very special. The wine list was well-selected and our food was extraordinary. This was definitely one of the highlights of our gastronomic tour of Savannah.

Helpful?
Thank freeteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A small restaurant with beautiful artwork and a creative menu. Gabrielle our server was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed our entres.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNbeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very interesting menu here. The food was quite tasty. Wine selection was very good, and our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable and helpful. At one point, I spilled my wine because of a slight difference in the height of two tables that had been pulled together to seat our group, and the waiter instantly offered to replenish my glass at no charge. The dinners for the five at our table all arrived at the same time. The strawberry-pecan-goat cheese salad was great. I had one of the specials, which was very good, and the butternut squash dessert was super. Don't expect to lose any calories at this restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank badger718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not so "Alure-ing"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is one of those place where you enter with high hopes and finish not feeling the need to dine here again. There was just nothing compelling about the atmosphere, the service or the food that would make you want to recommend it. A few details....

The biggest mistake with the service, was that the waiter started by over-hyping the capabilities of the chef, setting an expectation that was simply not delivered. Dishes are not well composed or executed with the finesse that you would expect for the price point. If you are going to use an exotic ingredient like pig-ears then you really need to delivery a wow, not leave us wondering "why?" If I am going to get plain white rice accompanying my chicken dish, then I expect it to come from a carton and be followed with a fortune cookie, not be taking up 2/3 of the plate on a $20+ entree.

In terms of environment, the restaurant is loud and as others have mentioned they have one bathroom which generally had a line. If you are a local, I am guessing you dine here once and then not again. Not a good use of your tourist dollars in my view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Surely_U_Jest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a.Lure also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to a.Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing