We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food”

Savannah Authentic Filipino Cuisine
Ranked #294 of 869 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Filipino
Restaurant details
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Love eating there when I get a chance, the staff is very friendly, the food is always good, I try something different everytime I eat there, have not had a bad meal yet.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmagic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, tiny lil' joint, with authentic Filipino snacks”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Every year, usually the 2nd Saturday in June, Savannah holds a wonderful Asian Festival, and has, among others, a Filipino food booth--the couple who owns this place cooks for the festival and every single year there are LOOOong lines in front! Someone always tells her that she should open a restaurant and this little place is the result! A tiny lil' joint with 3 tables, a small grocery section, spotlessly clean (bathrooms too), friendly staff, good food. It's more of a to-go kind of venture, with the food served in Styrofoam boxes, and entrees already cooked and on display, like the pancit Canton noodles, the BBQ chicken kabobs, jasmine rice, and such; there is a small but tasty set of appetizers and snacks that are fixed to order (heated up or flash fried) such as the delicious lumpia (Filipino spring roll), or steamed (like the siopao, a bun stuffed with chopped pork--my favorite!!) There is also an excellent fried shrimp patty I didn't get a photo of, but highly recommend it for the fresh flavor and lovely crispy, tender textures. My friend got the Dinuguan, which is a dish made with beef chunks in a beef blood gravy, very dark, very intense--not so good with the noodles, but I think the jasmine rice would have tempered the flavor a bit; spices were quite good and full of flavor, but definitely not a dish for the faint-hearted! My only gripes were that the pork bun was put in the microwave instead of steamed properly and the paper it sat on had to be peeled off (part of the bun came with it), and the Chicken Inasal, which is basically supposed to be grilled chicken-on-a-stick (sauce on the side), I believe was also heated up in the microwave, which made it kinda bland. Also, the Dinuguan had no onions or vegies in it, which I've seen it served with before--it makes the appearance less startlingly DARK, and also gives it a more appealing look. The owners were both cheerful and working hard, and though this is not a dinner place, it's quite fine for a quick lunch, especially if you wanna try something new and a little different. Open only Tues-Friday from 11am-8pm with parking in a small lot in front. For a fun lunch, try Filipino appetizers and get the oxtail or curried goat from Sweet Spice next door (Jamaican-Caribbean, see my review here on tripadvisor.com).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heart_of_Imladris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good Folks ,, Great Food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

no doubt,,, Savannah Authentic Filipino Cuisine is my Favorite by far,,,,Count on good service and a fair price,, the portions are plenty,,, ,,, Rose and her Husband are most friendly,, soo,, you really cannot go wrong with this Filipino Restaurant,,,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious, freshly made food”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Chicken delicious. Good pickled vegetables. Authentic food. Friendly owners. Nice and clean restaurant. Unique cultural experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshineandseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah GA
Level Contributor
355 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“authentic, convenient, meticulously clean...Awesome!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I lived in the Philippines for awhile and was glad to see an "authentic" Filipino restaurant open. I've been there several times and it's been excellent every time. Just about everything is made from scratch (well, the Pancit comes in a bag), and every meal is delicious, served fresh and have large portions. They have the usual: Pancit (at least 2 ways), Chicken Adobo, and Lumpia in addition to daily specials and a wide selection of desserts and juice beverages. The couple running the joint are incredibly courteous and friendly (remembering me from my last visit, some 2 months ago). There are tables for about 10 out front, and they do a brisk takeout business. They're open Tue-Fri from 10am-8pm. Bottom line: fantastic Filipino food served by Real people.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dolomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Authentic Filipino Cuisine also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Savannah Authentic Filipino Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing