We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Place”
Review of The Salt Table

The Salt Table
Ranked #4 of 20 Food & Drink in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Salt Table is an Unforgettable Tasting Experience Upon entering The Salt Table, you'll discover why Trip Advisor reviewers rank The Salt Table tops in Savannah Shopping. The aroma of the salts and seasonings will wake up your taste buds. You'll be encouraged to taste the salts and seasonings, and over 200 other flavors as well. Teas. Sugars. Oils. Vinegars. Popcorns. And, Vanillas. The Salt Table is not a franchise. It's is a unique, local brand of unique food enhancement products that are hand-blended and packaged right here in the Savannah area. You will taste the freshness. During your visit "Flavor Consultants" will provide suggestions for use, or you can explore at your own pace. The most common word heard as customers sample is "Wow." Black Truffle Salt or Ghost Pepper Salt are high on that list. "MMMMM", is uttered when one samples the Strawberry Peach Lemon Tea. Many of the dip blends are provided for sampling. Leak Dip and Loaded Baked Potato Dip are current favorites. Tuscan Bread Dipping blend and Garlic Butter when mixed with olive oil are, " just amazing." "In most stores, smell and tasting is limited to a few items, if any. Our customers are invited to test and enjoy just about everything. What a novel idea!" says Carol Legasse, co-founder. 'We make it easy by providing sampling stations throughout the store." Salt Table's Flavor Consultants roam the store, conducting impromptu "Salt Talks" and demonstrations of the very popular Himalayan Salt Plates. These make excellent cutting boards, or, when heated to 500 degrees, they're used as cooking surfaces. In addition to samples, cups of specially brewed iced tea and fresh gourmet popcorn by the bag are available on the spot. In the 'Georgia Room' - the new addition downstairs - The Salt Table offers highly awarded Georgia wines to sample or by the bottle as well as Georgia made products such as pecans, ginger products, rice and grits, honey, coffee, oils and balsamic vinegars. Hand crafted pottery made specifically for The Salt Table by local potters are on display. The new, wine tasting bar in the new lower level of the shop provides an excellent introduction of the fine dry red and white wines from North Georgia mountains as well as the sweet low country fruit wines. Local artists present their work for sale including pottery and framed photography with scenes of Savannah and the coastal area of Georgia. Savannah is known for its unique shops and boutiques, but a few stand out as a must do. The Salt Table in the historic district of Savannah is on the top of that list - a truly one-of-a-kind experience. You'll quickly understand why this shop has garnered so many 5-star reviews and accolades.
Hawkinsville
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Place”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Visited The Salt Table store for about 45 minutes. It was very interesting checking out the different salts, sugars and spices. Purchased a variety of items to try.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank phmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at The Salt Table, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. People do linger and we love it. The more they sample, the more they want to try. I hope you had as much fun with our products once you got home. What types of dishes did you whip up?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    54
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pooler, Georgia
1 review
“great stores”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I love love love the Salt Table. They have so many wonderful items, not just salt. Quality is excellent and I would recommend every one to go there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at The Salt Table, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hey Sheri: Thanks for your review. Yes! We now have "Stores" (plural) Yeah!

We just opened a second Salt Table store in Pooler ... just in time for Christmas shopping. It offers the same products as the downtown Savannah (except for wine) and the same level of customer service. We look forward to our grand opening, hopefully sometime in February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A unique Savannah experience”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Lots of salts and seasonings to taste. They also have dips and loose leaf teas. My favorite part was just about every variety of popcorn salt! If you want a unique experience, I recommend this shop.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Salt Table, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks Nicole. Our popcorn is very popular, the seasonings just add to the great flavor and we've added a few new flavors since your visit. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique shop”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

One of the most unique shops in Savannah. It is a must go to spot if you love spices, salts, and sugars! The black truffle sea salt is amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Maconmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at The Salt Table, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. We are proud to say that The Salt Table is consistently rated #1 or #2 place to shop in Savannah by Trip Advisor reviewers. And there's some pretty fine places in Savannah! We try our very best to earn that rating everyday with enthusiastic customer service and excellent products. We look for3ward to0 your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was near the end of our food tour and what a delight it was to try different flavored salts. I purchased several different salts and am looking forward to trying them out. The employees were very helpful and nice to talk with. The cost of the salt was about average for specialty salt boutiques. This is a place that I will return to the next time I'm in Savannah and purchase gifts for the holidays.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sailingalbvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at The Salt Table, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
(To all our reviewers in Oct and Nov, my apologies for the delay in my response. With our expansion underway and the holidays, the weeks just got away from me. My resolution for 2014, answer every review ... weekly ;-). I agree, The Savannah Taste Experience is a fantastic way to discover Savannah. It's more than just great food ... it's the history and the background of how Savannah has become such a great place to visit! BTW: I hope your friend enjoyed the gifts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salt Table also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Salt Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing