We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean-ish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savannah International Pensione
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean-ish”
Reviewed May 28, 2007

I paid extra to get a private room. It was $60 a night for the carriage house, which also meant you weren't locked out during the day. I shared a bath with my neighbor, and we had access to a kitchen. The place was the cheapest I could find in Savannah. The owner was friendly -- although he didn't seem to be a good business man. A couple stopped by while I was waiting for my taxi, and he actually told them to come by later rather than showing them a room and taking their reservation. Oh well. If you're low maintenance, you'll do fine. If you'd rather have something a little nicer where you don't feel like you have to wear flip flops in the shower, look elsewhere.

It's in an OK neighborhood, and the owner tells you where you shouldn't stray after dark. It's close to the park, and everything is within walking distance, although you're also close to the free tourist bus.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shared bath
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wes4406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
9
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We waited until the last minute to find a room in Savannah on the 4th of July weekend. There was nada available except super high priced rooms in generic chain hotels and those weren't even in the historic district. But thanks to the Lonely Planet Guide we found the Savannah Pensione!
Brian Sherman, the manager, was friendly and accomodating. The building is a wonderful old victorian with amazingly high ceilings, screened in sleeping porches, wrought iron on the huge windows. It's a bit shabby and they are in the middle of remodelling. The AC didn't work terribly well. But we really liked the place.
It's a shared bathroom and kitchen. You get little "sleep sheets" and a scratchy blanket for bedding. But hey - it's a hostel so you shouldn't expect luxury.
We paid 80.00 for the room.
It's walkable to the tourist areas, down gorgeous old brick streets and through many lovely squares. There are resturaunts within a couple of blocks and a big grocery store across the street.
Savannah would be a great city to ride bicycles around, but we didn't have time for that.
Also recommend the Ghost Talk Ghost Walk Tour (912-233-3896).

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashevillejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2006

I stayed at the Savannah Hostel for some of my spring break in early March. I was there with 4 other friends and we were all able to stay together in the same room. The room was perfect for us; there were 3 nice sized bunks (all with a top and a bottom bunk) and a spacious bathroom (with plenty of hot water) connected to our room - and if we had to all get showers, there is also a bathroom down the hall. There was also a futon in the room so we could put our stuff down on it. I loved the house; it was perfect for walking around the historic district (no more than like a 20 minute walk and you can take pictures of all the squares while doing so). There is also a kitchen for guests to use. We all had a blast and I am planning on staying there again.
*NOTE: You might want to bring your own pillow, but they do provide a sheet sleeping garment, pillow and blanket. During colder times of the year, bring extra stuff to stay warm.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CamellaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2005

The people running the place were really nice to a friend and I when we were able to stay here in June. It's not in the best area, but luckily we had a car, so getting about wasn't a problem - though for others it may be a concern. The nicest thing about the place - the decent people. The worst? The cleanliness of the hostel which was absolutely diabolical. It was the worst hostel for cleanliness I have ever seen - and I've been to more than a fair share. The sheets given to you are no more than rags. Another traveller who we met there also had arrived into Savannah during the day, and there is a long shut out period during the day (9am til 5pm if I remember rightly), which is absolutely ridiculous for a functioning hostel, and he had to sit across the street in the rain for many hours. It's a shame the people running it were nice, otherwise I would have been in touch with the authorities long before now to have the place shut down. My opinion, I know, but I would be amazed if others could stay there and disagree with me.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DunkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,705 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah International Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah International Pensione

Property: Savannah International Pensione
Address: 304 E Hall St, Savannah, GA 31401-5711
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Savannah International Pensione Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing