We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Historic District

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #49 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Room was big, clean, and comfortable. We were there three nights so we enjoyed having a sitting area. The couch was comfortable, the TV a small tube type that you had to whack to get it to give you a good picture, but we were not there to watch TV. Breakfast was great...eggs, waffles, fruit and more. Coffee was available all day. The staff was helpful in arranging shuttle pick up and tours. We are both in our 70's so the walk to the historic district was a little much. I would say it was about 4 to 5 blocks or a half mile. Thy offer a shuttle to a convenient location in the morning and a pick up in the afternoon.
Tour companies pick up there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobTayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    189
    53
    32
    29
See reviews for
164
231
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We moved here after a terrible night in Quality Inn Midtown. What a wonderful bright comfortable HUGE room. Sitting area and large TV. We travel with our small dogs, and there is a yard outside for them to roam.
Everything is pristine, and upto date. Extra Towels and coffee were already in our room. Desk staff were friendly and SMILED.
This is within walking distance if you are going to trak around the city. However, if you are wearing heels and going out for the evening call a cab or drive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank storkFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morton il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

Clean nice motel and they are doing some upgrades. The room was large with sofa and small desk. The free breakfast had many items including fresh fruit, hot waffles, eggs and either bacon,sausage or ham. The staff person in the dining room was very helpful and kept everything refilled and recognized repeat customers with a smile. Parking was free. I would recommend this motel to family or friends. We found a great inexpensive restaurant called Geneva's located on Bee Street by Daffin Park. It's out of the historic district but the food was delicious and made with all fresh ingredients. Be sure and get the peach cobbler or banana pudding if you have room for dessert.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayMortonIl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

Hotel close to historic district however, did not feel comfortable walking back to hotel at night (4 generations ages 5-90). Wish that housekeeping had paid a little more attention to detail. Also, the front desk was not helpful with tourist information. With that being said, great value, breakfast had a wonderful variety, the food staff was great, security very friendly (we arrived at midnight and he helped us bring in baggage!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrington97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthPlainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

They hotel looked awesome. The Check was okay, and they had cookies for guests, trying to be like Doubletree. Big rooms, loved the beds. Loved the furniture, especially the TV stand, it was huge, wish i had that at home. Was like a Marriott type style room. They ceiling was more than 12 ft tall couldn't tell how high but very high. breakfast was okay,only problem was that there were too many people. In the end was a okay experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler6810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

This hotel is next to the Dorothy Barnes Pelote Bridge on W. Bay Street and the bridge leading to South Carolina runs just behind the hotel. The suites were large, comfortable and well appointed. The included continental breakfast was hot and tasty with everything from make your own waffles to eggs, bacon and grits. My suite was on the 1st floor and was conveniently located near the guest laundry facilities and an outside door leading to a nice grassy area where I could walk my dog. The indoor pool and hot tub were clean and quite during my visit, eventhough I was there the weekend after the big St. Patrick's day celebration. I really appreciated the extra security measures the hotel took to ensure the safety of the guests. My elderly mother and I had a delightful visit. There are only two factors preventing me from recommending this hotel completely. As a budget minded person, I found the increase of approximately $30.00/night fee based on a Friday night stay to be a bit much and the $50.00 pet fee/stay was also higher that some of the competitors.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastTNLadyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

When we arrived it was not to busy. As we stood in line waiting to ck in, others started to arrive. We smelled something that really was wonderful and found out it was time for the Home-made cookies and Lemonade. What a welcome!
We mozied on down to our room and found it very cozy!! Nice and clean and stocked.
Had a fridge and microwave and we happed to be a hop skip and jump from the ice and snack machine. Oh yes and the diningroom and food was also a short distance from our room.
How quaint the place was. The employees were pleasant and helpful. And the conceiger was a great help! She went out of her way to make sure we got our tours.
Would not hestiate to stay again and in fact will be staying again in a few months.
So if you are going to Savannah and need a place to stay, by all means check into the Comfort Suites and enjoy your stay, we did!!!

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank klbryant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing