We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Comfort and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort and Hospitality”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was very impressive! Greeted with a warm smile by Donna at the front desk, felt welcomed after a very long flight. An excellent room, high ceilings, spacious, big beds and full workspace, like private apartment. Complimentary breakfast, many options, very tasty, prepared by Shanell always had a smile in the mornings. Walking on the grounds, asked James, the building engineer, gave me good tips on where to eat in the city. The hotel even had a shuttle service by Andrea, to drive me there and pick me up, now that's very cool. No wandering around trying to figure it out, it saved time and was excellent! Had great southern cooking. wow!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    192
    57
    34
    31
See reviews for
173
238
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Suites for a youth softball tournament on the weekend of November 22-24, 2013. Though the name of the hotel is Comfort Suites historic district - it is located on the very 'edge' of the true Savannah historic area. The hotel is located in a bit of a questionable area, with some lower income housing directly across the street (on Bay Street). There were some larger groups "hanging out" in this area at night, so if you are walking to the historic area, I would recommend walking in a group.

Once inside the doors of the hotel you will find a very nice (and new) Comfort Suites with all of the typical amenities. We had asked for a king room, but were given a room with two beds. After speaking with the manager, we were upgraded to a king suite and all was great. Rooms are very clean, bed was comfortable, and overall the experience for overnight slumber was great.

Breakfast is typical continental type you will find at most hotels of this class/level - coffee, pastries, waffles (waffle maker), eggs/sausage or ham, etc. Breakfast area was clean and the breakfast staff was attentive to keeping the area stocked.

There is an indoor pool and a hot tub. We didn't go in this area, but it appeared clean. The pool itself was very small (maybe 2-3 times the size of an average size hot tub).

Overall it was a good stay, but the area surrounding the hotel left something to be desired. The rates are better than some of the hotels that are more central to the historic district (approximately a $25/night difference), so if price is your deciding factor on where to stay - this hotel is probably going to win out more times than not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoftballGuy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A big Thank you to the management! They saved us from a vacation nightmare. We booked a vacation rental in the area. But, on arrival it was a disaster! So, at 11pm we needed to find a new place to stay for the weekend with pets. When I called in a panic to see if comfort inn had availability and if they accepted pets. The friendly voice on the phone said yes to both questions. We talked to the manager the next morning and he was very helpful and even brought down the cost of the room for us. Thank you for saving our vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was greeted by a friendly desk clerk. They were working on the rooms on the first floor, and she had to change my room. Since I was by myself, there was not an issue for me. I received a room with two queens instead of a king. The room was clean and comfortable.
I was there with a group and we utilized the shuttle service. I returned from a sunrise outing and needed to change to a late checkout, which they were very reasonable in handling. Checkout was easy.
The hotel is a bit away from the historic district buildings, but not so much that you could not walk it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldyhumbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé enjoyed a 2-night getaway last weekend at this establishment.. Front desk staff was always polite and professional and also informative about the area.. Complimentary shuttle is very convenient. If anyone plans to take any of the Savannah tours; they will pick you up at your hotel as well. Overall, I enjoyed my stay; hotel is only a short walk to River street (3 street lights) rooms are clean, comfortable, indoor pool (didn't get a chance to use) and standard deluxe continental breakfast is good enough to start the day!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our staying at this hotel. The staff was great, especially Donna; she was very attentive and friendly. Overall it was clean and convenient. We book thru Priceline and negotiated a good price for the area. 100% satisfied! Thank you :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeliana09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.

Donna really appreciates your kind words!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will come see us again soon!!

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My girlfriends and I took a trip to Savannah, GA this past weekend. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Savannah our stay was fantastic. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We utilized the shuttle service and Teresa was AWESOME! So much in walking distance, however we gals aren't as in shape or as young as used to be so this shuttle service was wonderful. Teresa was friendly, knowledgable all the time being professional. Our room was spacious & clean. Thanks to everyone from the front desk, housekeeping, great breaksfast, and shuttle - we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
Teresa was tickled pink to hear what you wrote about her and very much appreciates your kind words. We are so glad our shuttle enhanced your total Savannah experience.

Thank you again and again! We hope to see you again really soon!!

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing