We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre at best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #49 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Mediocre at best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was suggested by a friend whose brother lives in Savannah. It sits on the outer edge of the Savannah Historic District. It is not a far walk to City Market and even Market Street. They offer a free shuttle to areas close to the hotel and will pick you up when you're through sightseeing in the area. The staff was nice and helpful. That, is where the story ends. When we arrived, we waited close to 30 min to be checked in. "Computer problems". When we got to our room, the door was open. The beds looked as if they had been sat on- they were rumpled. The walls were stained by inconsiderate guests leaving footprints on the wall. My husband went to take a shower and I had to go to the front desk to get some large bath towels. Last night we went to bed and found the pillows lacking any type of support. The bed, however, was quite comfortable. When we went to breakfast this morning we had the basic hotel free breakfast. It was so-so. Overall, I would rate this a 2.5 out of 5. Not the best nor the worst. It would be a good stop over hotel. Definitely not over two days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are so sorry that your expectations were not met. We have taken your comments to our staff. We hope you will consider us again in the future so that we may better serve you.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    189
    54
    32
    30
See reviews for
167
234
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Originally, we were going to bring our dog on this trip but we changed our mind. It is good that they are pet friendly but that is about all I can say that is positive about this hotel. The front desk staff was courteous. The room was marginal. The sheets were not clean. There was sticky stuff like caramel popcorn on the top sheet and a long black hair between the sheets. (My husband is bald and I have short blonde hair.) Housekeeping did not remove the trash, replace the coffe or cups, throw out used cups, or replace the shampoo. They took the dirty towels and never replaced them. We asked for clean towels at 5:30 pm and were told they were in the dryer. It is now 10:00 and there are still no clean towels, or towels at all.
The location is close to town, but not great. This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review and I have travelled all over the world. In one word, YUCK.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fehrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
Please know that your comments are constructive and not taken lightly. We hope you will consider us again in the future so that we may better serve you.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The member of staff that checked us in was very helpful and super friendly, making the process smooth. The rooms are large and clean. We wanted to go out to see the sights the same afternoon and the ladies on the front desk helped us with choosing a suitable bus tour but also let us know that if we didn't want to take a tour they had a shuttle available to take us into the Historic District should we have wanted it. The hotel is within walking distance of City Hall. The mornings breakfast area was clean and well stocked with both hot and cold items. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Savannah.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank redfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We appreciate your kind words and will relay them to our staff. We hope you will come again soon!

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I wanted to stay in historic district but the hotels were so expensive. At the last minute, we found the hotel for $116 per night and decided to book. We LOVED the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, parking was only $5 per day, it was walking distance from downtown, and had VERY comfortable beds. The room was a mini suite with a pull out couch. The neighborhood was very safe though it was about a block away from the beginning of the historic district. We walked home at 1am on several nights without any concerns. The hotel was clean as well. The other MAJOR plus was the free shuttle they offered. It is a van so only holds a few people but we never had to wait more than 20 mins for it. The shuttle took you to and picked you up anywhere within the historic district (when your legs were too tired to walk anymore!!). They also picked you up places and dropped you off at places other than the hotel which was nice. Breakfast had a decent selection of foods, not a full buffet though. We HIGHLY recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

It is an extra couple of blocks from the river area, but worth it. They offer a motorcycle discount that is better than AAA or AARP. Nice room, good breakfast, beautiful pool. Front desk folks are friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are glad to know we met your exceptions and shall make every effort to continue to do so. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a wonderful welcome from hotel staff upon arrival and remained that way until departure A lovely clean welcoming lobby, icy cold lemonade in a beverage decanter for self serve all day long was displayed in the lobby area . Lovely room high ceilings . clean smell, .clean indoor pool ..plenty of items to choose from at the complimentary breakfast including fresh fruit. A terrific service free of charge offered from the hotel , a personal shuttle service running all day until 8pm for free drop off and pick up from points around Savannah...wow, we couldn't believe our good fortune...Extremely helpful front desk staff...assisted in planning tours, restaurant suggestions and even complimentary detergent if you want to throw in a load of travel clothes....can't say enough about the staff....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We really appreciate your kindness and can't wait to share your comments with the staff. Thank you again and again. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This long weekend trip to Savannah was the first my husband and I have been able to take in several years due to family and work obligations. We were in much need of "relaxation and winding down time". We arrived on a Thursday evening and the next day discovered that we had been placed on the "pet friendly hall" of the hotel. There was a continually yapping dog in the room directly across the hall. My husband spoke with the manager about the situation and there were no suggestions as to what they, the hotel, could/would do to rectify our situation. This annoyance deeply hindered our stay at this hotel. I would recommend that anyone looking to stay at this hotel be sure they ask if the room they are being assigned is on a "pet friendly hall".

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if the room you are being assigned is on a "pet friendly hall" or you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vol50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing