We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and caring staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #48 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GEORGIA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay and caring staff!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013. The hotel room was extremely clean. I always check the bathrooms before I actually 'settle in' for my stay b/c that to me is the real sign of cleanliness, and the bathroom as well as the actual room was in great condition. We brought our Yorkie pup with us and she had her own little dog area located outside of the hotel. There was no outside noise that you could hear from inside the room. The breakfast they had each morning was really nice, had a great selection. We did not utilze the pool, but it did look very inviting and clean. The staff was very helpful with all of our questions and would recommend staying there for anyone. Although this particular hotel is not located right smack dab in the historic district, it is only 2 blocks to walk to get to the 'historic district', which may be the reason as to why the rooms did not cost an arm & a leg. Great stay and caring staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHATERLAU3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    195
    58
    34
    31
See reviews for
180
241
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family went to Savannah for a visit in July '13. Our draw to Savannah was the historic landmarks as well as close proximity to the beach. This hotel had what my family desires in a hotel. 1. It was clean. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. 2. Free Continental breakfast. It was tasty and filling. 3. A pool. The indoor pool space super nice.
4. Location was just on the edge of walking distance from attractions, but quiet.
The negatives: our air conditioner was leaking and spurting water. It cooled but made the floor wet. We notified the staff they came up but only after 2 days of letting them know. It never got fixed. The breakfast orange juice ran out and did not get refilled the last two days.
I would recommend this place. I would return as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are looking into the issues you mentioned and we do apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you will stay with us again so that we might have the opportunity to better serve you.

Thank you again,

Best regards,
Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We found this hotel on AAA and it had 3 diamonds, which was fine for our stopover needs. Our initial room was not very clean...hair in the bathtub, trash on the floor, crumbs on the nightstand...small things that made me uncomfortable. We asked for housekeeping and Donna changed us to an "executive suite" instead, although this was not necessary, just another room would have been fine. The breakfast was very good in the morning. We didn't use the pool as the water was very cloudy. It is a 3-star (out of 5)...no more, no less. Donna also said that she was waiving the parking fee, but I couldn't find anything in AAA or in their ads that said there was one in the first place. Donna's customer service is what made our stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Bridge view from this hotel is not the best. We have been here several times. City view is great. Do not sleep on the 1st floor. 1st floor is for pet owners. You may hear a dog bark. Overall great staff, clean rooms, and great free breakfast!!! Great price for Savannah. Walking distance from the Riverfront.
Note the Apartments across the street may look dangerous but it's appear to no problem. We have been here several times with no problems.

Room Tip: Bridge view from this hotel is not the best. We have been here several times. City view is great. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had no reservations and decided to spend the night in Savannah Georgia. I had no idea where to stay, but knew we wanted to stay in the historic district. The young man at the welcome center set me up with Comfort Suites. It was on the outer edge of the Historic District but still close to everything and the price was fantastic. The room was clean, comfortable, and large. The staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and there was a free shuttle to get you where you wanted to go, which was great, as parking was hard. Loved it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjschisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before but this time....it has went downhill. One elevator and its small and super slow! The rooms are ok...beds were soft..our shower was clogged when we got there and had to fix ourself. The jacuzzi was disgusting and brown. Even though they drained it and refilled it not bothering to actually scrub it. The pool was ok if you could get past the smell of wet paint. The shuttle van was nice and the lady doing the driving was extremely nice! Bring your own pop and water because they vending machine was out the whole week we were there! The breakfast was awful so were settled for toast every day..it wasn't well kept or refilled very often. Don't park around the bushes or your vehicle will be covered with some sticky stuff that comes from the sprinklers. It's hard to get off the windshield and handles also! Some of the front staff wasn't very informative and didn't have any area info or brochures of the area! You have to pay 5.00 each night for parking whereas we didn't have to last time. Ask for the top floor unless you have pets because the bottom floor is for pet owners. We won't be staying here again. I will gladly pay more to stay somewhere else next time!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TLC4EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Comfort Suites is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown Savannah. It's a bit cheaper as it's not in the heart of the area, and you do have to walk through a small area that is a bit on the fringes. Fine during the day (and really at night, too) but I did not want our teen girls to do it alone at night.
Parking is great, and it's either free or pretty cheap compared to most of the other hotels in the area.
The staff seemed helpful and friendly. We liked that they had luggage carts available.
The rooms were about what you would expect for this price. We liked the sitting area; the sofa could have been pulled out to a bed if we'd needed. We did not like the fact that the toilet was either stained or damaged so it looked stained; that was kind of unpleasant, and the A/C, while it was cold, was somewhat blocked by the bed closest to it, so the air did not spread out as well as it should have in the room. The WiFi is free and great.
We were near the elevator; that's a bad place to be as the elevator is the slowest I've ever experienced in any hotel, which meant people stood in the hall and talked - loudly - at all hours waiting for it.
The fitness center is small; a treadmill, an elliptical and a bike. I'd have loved to see a few weights or a multipurpose machine - but it was clean and the equipment and TV worked well. The pool and hot tub are not very private - they are indoors and right at the front off the lobby - and looked a little small, but were pretty popular.
We used the washer and dryer; they were reasonable and worked well; usually these dryers are almost worthless, but this one was great. The front desk did not have laundry soap, however, which was kind of a pain. Maybe sell it in the snack machine in the same room?
I thought breakfast was good; pretty typical stuff.
We liked that the tour we selected picked up at the hotel; that was really convenient.
We loved Savannah and Tybee Island and we'll be back. I might pick one of the more historic hotels closer in or a B&B, just for a new experience, but this was a good choice on a busy holiday weekend, and was available at the last minute when our previous plans did not work out.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the world's slowest elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing