We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday weekend in Savannah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #49 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holiday weekend in Savannah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Comfort Suites is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown Savannah. It's a bit cheaper as it's not in the heart of the area, and you do have to walk through a small area that is a bit on the fringes. Fine during the day (and really at night, too) but I did not want our teen girls to do it alone at night.
Parking is great, and it's either free or pretty cheap compared to most of the other hotels in the area.
The staff seemed helpful and friendly. We liked that they had luggage carts available.
The rooms were about what you would expect for this price. We liked the sitting area; the sofa could have been pulled out to a bed if we'd needed. We did not like the fact that the toilet was either stained or damaged so it looked stained; that was kind of unpleasant, and the A/C, while it was cold, was somewhat blocked by the bed closest to it, so the air did not spread out as well as it should have in the room. The WiFi is free and great.
We were near the elevator; that's a bad place to be as the elevator is the slowest I've ever experienced in any hotel, which meant people stood in the hall and talked - loudly - at all hours waiting for it.
The fitness center is small; a treadmill, an elliptical and a bike. I'd have loved to see a few weights or a multipurpose machine - but it was clean and the equipment and TV worked well. The pool and hot tub are not very private - they are indoors and right at the front off the lobby - and looked a little small, but were pretty popular.
We used the washer and dryer; they were reasonable and worked well; usually these dryers are almost worthless, but this one was great. The front desk did not have laundry soap, however, which was kind of a pain. Maybe sell it in the snack machine in the same room?
I thought breakfast was good; pretty typical stuff.
We liked that the tour we selected picked up at the hotel; that was really convenient.
We loved Savannah and Tybee Island and we'll be back. I might pick one of the more historic hotels closer in or a B&B, just for a new experience, but this was a good choice on a busy holiday weekend, and was available at the last minute when our previous plans did not work out.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the world's slowest elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    189
    54
    32
    30
See reviews for
167
234
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is much here to like: Nice, friendly staff (front desk and shuttle drivers), free and safe parking for your car, clean accommodations, proximity to everything, nice little indoor pool and spa, large free breakfast and - most important - a free shuttle to get you around. We found no parking spaces anywhere downtown or near River Street and the ones you may come across have short term meters that have to be fed during the course of your dining or visit which is a hassle! If you ignore and park anyway, we were told by locals you will be fined and towed! Comfort Suites will help you get to anywhere you want to go which will make your stay SO NICE. They also took AAA which reduced the cost of our room. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

After a long drive i found Comfort Suites on Choice Hotels website. I was greeted by Donna at the front desk. She was so nice and was overly friendly, and it made my day so much better to be greeted with such a positive attitude after a 7 hour drive! This was by far one of the nicest hotels my Husband and myself have stayed in. The room was amazing! I love the high ceilings! Everyone at the hotel was nice and helpful. The only complaints I have are, that the hotel is beside the "the projects" but we did not experience any problems but I didn't feel safe walking at night back to the hotel ( shuttle stopped running at 8 pm). Secondly, the shuttle was to take us to River Street and the female driver said because of traffic she would drop us at the stop light up from the hotel, we could have walked and was a waste of time to stand outside the hotel and wait on her to get back! Over all, this was a wonderful hotel. If you have to check in, in the evening or at night, I hope you get to experience the wonderful hospitality that was provided to us from Donna!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and found the staff to be very helpful. Our complimentary shuttle service has been a huge hit with our guests, and we have corrected the drop off at the stop light.
We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

we arrived early and even so was given our room graciously from John and Traci. we were hoping it would be closer to river walk but was told that the shuttle would take us and pick us up from wherever we would want to go. i wasnt feeling well and told traci she was so kind and compassionate, the next day she gifted us with a tour and said she hoped it would help. we enjoyed it so much and was able to use it all day to see so much of savannahs historic district. our room was cleaned and we met the staff as they were finishing and were told if they could do anything for us let them know and welcomed us warmly. the shuttle was wonderful with mario and andrea they both went out of their way to help and assist us. we will return and look forward to seeing all of the wonderful staff, especially traci hall again thank you so much.

Room Tip: we had our puppy so we were on the first floor and it was quiet and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in spite of not feeling your best. And look forward to seeing you again very soon. Traci was so surprised to see that she was mentioned by name, she said to say thank you and to hurry back.

Thank you again, see you next time.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stay in Choice Hotels often in many places. This was one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. The front desk staff, I believe her name was Andrea, went out of her way to check us in early after a 9 hour drive so we could freshen up before going out to explore the city. We only had the day and arrived around 1pm. We took the "Old Savannah" tour which picked us up directly from the hotel. That was really nice and informative. Upon returning from our tour, we found ice cold lemonade in the lobby for the guests. What a welcome treat! When we went out to dinner, the hotel had a shuttle that took us to our restaurant and picked us up when we were done. It was such a pleasant experience we plan on returning to Savannah for a longer stay. Thanks for a great start to a great vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baycation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Comfort Suites Historic District. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your staying with us again soon.

Thank you again,

Best regards,
Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have ALWAYS wanted to go to Savannah, and an unscheduled trip in January 2013 did not disappoint. That said, I had no idea hotels in the area were so expensive, though that shouldn't have surprised me. At any rate, having made reservations sight-unseen after reading TA reviews, I expected to be on the fringes of the historic district. This was definitely on the fringes, and my friend and I (both female) were uneasy about walking the area after dark. We did walk the six or so blocks to the main historic district early our first morning there, and experienced no problems. I still wouldn't walk the area after dark. The hotel itself is very nice, clean, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. My trip to Savannah was wonderful and memorable, and if given the opportunity to return I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District. We very much appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank you again,

Best regards,
Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We decided to stay here because we wanted to be within walking distance of River Street. When booking this hotel, you do get the impression from the description that it is closer to the historic district than it actually is. We were happy to find out that they offered a shuttle service so that we would not have to walk back from River Street late that evening. We rode in the van to Joe's Crab Shack around 5:30 but the driver was not friendly at all. At 8:34, we called the hotel to be picked up close to where we had been dropped off. At 9:26, we still had not been picked up so we walked back to the hotel. Also, this hotel really needs to do something about the room doors. All we heard from the time we got there until we left, even during the night, was constant slamming. Lastly, a parking charge was not mentioned until we got our bill but at least it was only $5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoodSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for your recent review of The Comfort Suites Historic District. We appreciate your taking the time to tell about your experience.
We are very sorry you were not happy with our shuttle service. We do try to pick guests up in a timely manner for the return to the hotel. The weekends in Savannah tend to be very busy, as you probably noticed. We will share your review with our team members who were involved.
Again, we are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please try us again on a future visit so we can show you how we have improved.

Thank you

Best regards,
Inan Isik
General Manager
Along with the Comfort Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing