We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #49 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

the room was beautiful and the staff were so friendly and they couldn't do enough for you. they gave directions and we had a wonderful time in Savannah! This hotel was really a great place to stay. The beds were so comfortable and there was a fridge and coffee maker and microwave in the room. The bath was large and very clean. The continental breakfast was filling and there were a lot of choices. This was one of the nicest places I have stayed.

Room Tip: the double had 2 double beds and a pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    189
    54
    32
    30
See reviews for
167
234
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wewahitchka, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Nice clean, quite rooms,, BEWARE $5.00 a night parking,, 2 1/2 blocks to the downtown area,, shuttle is provided $$ ??,,,, First time in Savannah,, will definitely make the trip again,, friendly staff !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Savannah and we are happy we chose this hotel. We were there 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Brenda, one of the morning breakfast staff, is especially lovely. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although not large, and it's in a quiet area of town. We were out late at night and never felt to be in any danger. It's a bit far from the river area but you can walk it if you don't mind the exercise. Very close to Forsyth Park and an easy walk to the City Market area. There is always the option of the free shuttle that runs throughout the historic district. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHarris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
399 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Despite its address, this hotel is a short distance from the historic area of Savannah, but that is well compensated for by the provision of a free shuttle to any place in that area. We found the staff to be most cordial and their attention to guests.quite diligent. Both the cleaning staff and breakfast workers did their best to provide pleasant and efficient service. While not inexpensive, this hotel seemed a good value for the area and a clean and efficient operation. Perhaps this hotel stretches the definition of the word "suite", but it was comfortable for purposes of a three-day sightseeing visit. Its most appealing feature was the shuttle service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were a little surprised at the location of this hotel....on a busy street with a major bridge right behind it. It was also not in the greatest part of town. I was misled by the person when making a reservation, which did not make me happy. She told me it was about 2 blocks from the historic district and very safe walking after dark. I did not feel that was the case. That being said, the hotel was amazingly quiet and the breakfast was very good. It was also pretty clean. I'm unsure if I would return. I'm sorry to be negative, but this was our experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLMom961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.


I am sorry you feel our reservation center mislead you on our location. That is not how we would like our guests to feel upon arriving for their stay with us. We are actually located four blocks from City Market and River St. We do have free shuttle service available for our guests to be transported anywhere within the Historic District. Please don’t feel you are being negative, you also stated positives. The hotel is amazingly quiet, we have many guests tell us that, sure helps in getting a good night sleep.
You mentioned the bridge behind the hotel. We actually have guests who request rooms on that side of the hotel so they can see the bridge, especially at night with all the lights. It is quite amazing to see.
Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will stay with us when you return to Savannah.

Best regards,
Ron Jean/GM
And the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a nice, clean, comfortable hotel not far from the historic district. A free shuttle runs there during the day. The hotel offers a free typical hot breakfast and cheaper parking than most. Staff are nice and attentive. It was the best deal we could find in the area. There's also a nice pool for the kids and a hot tub. I felt this hotel was a really good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel located a couple of blocks from main historic district. I think this helped it to be quieter since there wasn't nearly the people and traffic flow. It was across from a housing project, but I never felt uncomfortable walking. The hotel's free pickup service runs until 11 p.m. We used it once due to weather. They were prompt picking us up, and the driver was very friendly.

The suite was large, with lots of room, and nice furnishings. We slept well. A bathroom trashcan would have been nice, but that's a very small thing. The continental breakfast was typical for this level of hotel, and met our expectations.
I did not like the location of the pool, as it was beside the main lobby, so everyone passing by could see in, but I'm sure that helps keep trouble down.

all the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. We would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel recently implemented a parking fee of $5 a day. This is much cheaper than the hotels located in the heart of the historic district.

Room Tip: The back side looks at the Talmadge Bridge, while the front doesn't have anything nice to see. w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorcon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing