We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Historic District, but close”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #47 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Since our booking reservation experience was not pleasurable, had our doubts about this hotel from the get go! BUT, we were pleasantly surprised. Hotel right under the Talmadge Bridge. Hotel 2 REAL blocks from Best Western, which is where River Street starts on the West end. Hard to walk in flipflops, but if wearing athletic shoes you'd do better, hence the reason we just drove down River Street and always found a non-paying parking spot!:) Hotel was really clean, nicely decorated, staff very pleasant, decent breakfast! A shout out to Erica in Housekeeping for being so patient with us as we got our act together and out so she could clean the room. Hotel's area description in other reviews not a big concern to us, but again we drove "into town" each time, instead of walking as we have done at other hotels in the past. Overall, if on a buget, such as this trip, would consider this hotel again. If I can splurge more on a room, will choose a different hotel inside the historic district. Forever in love with Savannah:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJo0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 613 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a short stay there, came in Saturday and left Sunday, so this ia limited experience. Place was clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast was common continental, nothing extraordinary. Vending machine was empty of water, which was not good, and there was no other location to buy any. Once breakfast was over the machine that had water was turned off so the only place to get any was a water fountain, which is not always the preferred because of how some kids use them. Price was high considering it was much further away than the other hotels and not recommended to walk from there to the other locations like River St. But if it is a quick trip and you only plan to sleep there, besides the high price, it is good.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bd suite; don't let the name fool you. You get a little extra space with a couch betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainiershadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel markets itself as being in the historic district but is not, it is nearby; but still charges historic district prices.
The hotel is poorly managed. The carpet outside the elevator on our floor was filthy! Large areas were black! By the waste bin next to the ice-maker was a large plastic bag full of plastic cups, cans, plates etc. There was another one on the bin at the front entrance and the bin was overflowing. There were cigarette butts everywhere on the ground.,
Breakfast was the standard.
The staff were there but not at all friendly.
You would be better paying the same money and staying within the historic district at one of the other hotels there. We visited one where our friends were staying and it was much better with more services

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:
I would like to thank you for taking the time write your review. I am very sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations.
You are absolutely right, the carpets in the halls are in need of a cleaning. We have been going through a complete room renovation of all of our guest rooms and have tried to keep them as clean as possible with the equipment we have. The carpets are being professionally cleaned on Monday.
If you would please give me a call at 912.629.2001 I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to personally discuss the issues you brought up in your review and possibly make this right. I look forward to speaking with you.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/GM
Along with The Historic District Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent 2 nights here July 13 and 14. Nice hotel, fairly new, well kept and clean. Just a little too far outside the historic district for easy walking though.

Room Tip: Not a scenic location, on any side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GM_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The first face we saw when we enter the hotel was MS Donna, the most friendly and helpful lady at the front desk, and even when we would come and go and she was on duty she would recongize us and tell us to have a good night. Ms Donna went out of her way to help us, we had booked another hotel which was not so nice, the other hotel manager called Ms Donna worked with us and made us feel welcome and we was so thankful for her attitude and kindness.
Thank again God Bless.
Toney and Godfrey Powell

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godfrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The window-mounted A/C unit fan (rather than built-in unit with a thermostat in the room and the blower elsewhere) is noisy. Other than that, the facility was quiet and rated "very good" in most categories ... but not really excellent. A smoke-free facility.

Room Tip: There's just one elevator to the second and third floors, but we stayed on the third floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I had my doubts about this hotel, but upon arriving I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was great and always willing to help us with anything that we needed. The free breakfast was a bonus! The pool was a little small but that didn't bother us in any way. The location was great, just a couple of blocks from River St. The actual room was very nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The Assistant GM, James, was great!! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay and we look forward to visiting you and the staff this fall! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Savannah.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $115 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TravelUp, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing