We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW....only place I stay in Savannah now.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Topsail Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOW....only place I stay in Savannah now.”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Ive stayed in the Hyatt on Riverstreet and several other hotels in Savannah. I travel here somewhat reguraly for both business and pleasure. Anywhere directly near Riverstreet you might as well figure in vallet fees and cab fees or tip your vallet everytime you leave. Oh and at the Hyatt, they will not give you a cart so you have to tip the bell boy also. All said and done, factor in an additional $50 for a weekend trip, not to bad. However, this hotel wants your business and they treat you like it. Theres no restaurant or bar but the rates are great and they treat you like family. First time I stayed here I made a very rare complaint about the soda machines that there were no options other than soda and water and next time I stayed there was 2 big bottles of Gatorade in my room! The staff is very friendly and its only a couple blocks from River Street. This hotel is great and, Im going to cap this, THEY HAVE A AGREEMENT WITH AN AWESOME SMALL GYM 1 MILE FROM THE HOTEL THAT IS OPEN 24 HRS and never crowded, local crowd....awesome right? Stay here, you may have to walk a little for River St. but its good for you! Rates are great!!! This is the only place I stay in Savannah now.

Room Tip: Pets stay on the first floor, 2nd and 3rd floor have always been pet free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravisTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so happy to know you enjoy the time you spend with us at the Comfort Suites Historic District while in Savannah, GA for business travel. We truly do value your business and we enjoy showing our guest how much they truly mean to us. I am absolutely humbled by your review, such kind words go such a long way.

Everyone at the Comfort Suites Historic District looks forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    192
    57
    34
    31
See reviews for
173
238
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, oh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I decided to try the Comfort Suites in Savannah on a whim. It is very close to all the action yet far enough away to be nice and quiet. A 5 minutes walk to the hub of things down on the riverfront, if that. Sheila was at the front desk to check us in and she was so helpful and friendly. We asked for suggestions for dinner and she gave us 4, each a different type of food and atmosphere as we weren't sure exactly what mood we were in. We settle on one (Coreleone's) and it was wonderful. Our room was clean, plenty big enough and the shower was great. The hotel was a nice experience and Sheila was the icing on the cake. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmaryfahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such positive words. I am beyond thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and that Sheila took good care of you and your husband. Sheila is a wonderful employee and we are truly blessed to have her as a team member. I am happy to know you enjoyed your room, shower, service, location, and value. I do hope to have you as a guest again in the near future.

Coreleone’s is a wonderful restaurant, I am glad both you and your husband enjoyed the atmosphere and food.

Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is 15 minutes walk to downtown River St were most tourists tend to walk, it's also close to other parts of the historic district less than 5 min. walk. Our hotel room was clean with 1 king bed including a pull-out couch, fridge and microwave, there is no really good view as the hotel is at one end of the historic district close to the Taimadge Bridge hyw 404 &17 supper high bridge worth driving over but no walking path. I stayed on a saturday night their normally busiest night of the week and the hotel was close to a 100% full. On check-in, I was puzzled by the fact there was only one desk clerk called Sheila, but amazingly she was able to cope and got the guests checked in fairly quickly and still be very friendly, a credit to the hotel. Parking is included in the price of the room which is an outdoor lot in the hotel grounds, seemed reasonably safe and could accomadate a truck as well as cars. The hotel pool is very small kidney shape with a hot tub, OK for kids, there is also a work-out room small with two fairly expensive work-out machines. Continental breakfast included with the room, clean and pretty well supplied with lots of choice. The staff was courteous and polite, all in all I we were please with our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: When checking in you may grab a porter's trolly cart (they are in the doorway of the lobby) to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northknight3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such kind words about your stay while you were in Savannah, GA. Saturday nights are typically busy nights for us, however, this time of the year tends to be a little slower. Sheila is a fantastic employee and we are blessed to have her with us. I can assure you we are adding additional staff members for the 100% occupied nights. I am happy to know you had a chance to look at our pool and gym. The equipment we have in our gym is very nice (I am glad you took notice) and though the pool is smaller in size it is located indoors which most of our guest truly enjoy. Also, I am thrilled to know your enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Savannah. Although we were only there for one night, the hotel was very nice. The room was reasonably priced, clean, very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Although it isn't situated in the "heart" of the historic district, it's a short shuttle ride away. The view of the suspension bridge is breathtaking at night. Should we go back to Savannah, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Depends on what you desire in a room. Internet was good, but if you don't plan to be in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing positive feedback about your stay while you were in Savannah, GA. Though it is not located in the heart if the Historic District, it is located in a reserved and quiet area on the west end of the Historic District. The location allows our guest to take advantage of free parking (most hotels in the Historic District charge to park) while being removed from the noisy streets of the Downtown area.

We are happy to know you felt we were reasonable priced with clean and spacious rooms. Everyone at the Comfort Suites Historic District looks forward to having you as a guest again in the future.


Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Located at the north end of the Historic District. While it is not exactly in the Historic district it is an easy walk to the River Front and easy access to the trolley. Very spacious rooms, updated and clean. Better than average continental breakfast. Great front desk staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a great view of the highest and largest bridge in Georgia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay while you were in Savannah, GA. Our hotel is located on the west end of River Street. Though it is located in the Historic District it is in a reserved and quiet area. The location allows our guest to take advantage of free parking; most hotels in the Historic District charge for parking.

I am thrilled to know you enjoyed our breakfast, rooms, location, and staff! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, FL USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Room exceeded our expectations. The staff was welcoming. We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were refreshed daily.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrabhamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Savannah, GA. I am thrilled to know we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I did lots of research for budget and family travel in Savannah historic district. Thanks to tripadvisor's coupon code that makes it a great deal to have suites (two queen beds plus a sofa bed) and free breakfast for three adults and 1 child. Donna is very nice and helpful at the front desk and the hotel represents the best value given the location and offerings (bed size, free breakfast, indoor pool). Next time when we travel, we definitely will look into Comfort Suites again. The only problem we have is the refrig in the room makes rhythm noise which can be heard during night sleep, and one of our beds makes big noise when sitting or sleeping on it. But this is just our room I think.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the East/Parking lot seem to be quieter. The other side faces the bridge on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsaver101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with us while you were visiting Savannah, GA. I am also happy to hear you took advantage of our TripAdvisor coupon. Donna is a fantastic employee and I will make certain to share with her your positive words. Thank for bringing to our attention the noisy fridge. I apologize for the noise; we are taking steps to correct this problem as we speak. We look forward to having you as a guest in our hotel in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing