We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just plain gross.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Abercorn
Ranked #96 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We had to stop in Savannah overnight due to storms coming through, and got this one via a priceline reservation. It was just gross. The sheets looked dirty, the floors looked dirty, and the trashcans actually WERE dirty, seeing as there was still garbage in it from the previous guests. The air conditioner is loud, and the tv didn't even have a remote control. Stay as far away from this place as you can!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slp1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2008

One of the worst hotel experiences I've had. Didn't expect much from it as far as amenities. As soon as my husband and I checked in, noticed a couple of people with beer milling around in the halls (about 5:45 pm). Starting at 10:30, became very noisy--vacuum running, tv loud, people yelling in the halls, slamming doors, banging on doors, moving things around in the rooms next to and across from ours. Called the front desk but they leave at 11. the after hours folks called the room in question to ask them to quiet down, but it didn't' help. At 12:30 I started calling the front desk again to ask them to call back to the room, and no one ever answered. Besides that, the bedspread was stained and there was trash in the stairwell beside our room, cigarette butts in the windowsill. We paid 52 plus tax for the room on Orbitz, could have paid the same at a hotel across the street and gotten a continental breakfast and some peace and quiet! I did complain and was given a certificate for a free stay, but that didn't make up for all the lost sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aejo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

This a bare-bones place to stay for a good price. They do not have housekeeping daily, but I don't clean my house every day either. It would be best for people staying multiple nights because of the kitchenettes that would allow you to save some money by eating in once in awhile. Overall it is a simple but clean and relatively comfortable place to stay. Definitely not luxurious, but fine for the budget traveller. Do know that it is about a 10 minute drive to the historic distric from here - but it is also much more affordable. We found the front desk staff to be very helpful - a big thanks to them for helping us with getting packages and faxes!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank easytraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

This hotel is useful if you are staying in the Savannah area for a while and need a kitchenette. The fridge, stove and microwave worked fine. The bed linens and pillows were satisfactory. The cons: no workout area (and running outside isn't a safe option), the front desk was curt and had problems setting up billing, and housekeeping is once a week. TV reception was not satisfactory. The pros: near malls, restaurants, and grocery stores; a quick jaunt to downtown Savannah.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Becca_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

I enjoyed my stay at the Extended Stay. The rooms are very small, but comfortable if you're staying in one by yourself. If there are two people staying in one room then it might be a tight squeeze. The small kitchen includes coffee maker, microwave, fridge, and a 2 burner stove. A grocery store and other stores are located about 5 mins down the road. It takes about 10-15 mins to get to downtown Savannah.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DecTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Location is good--easy drive in to the historic district and to Tybee Island. A quiet place; seemed to be a mix of tourists and folks in the process of relocating for jobs.

The room and kitchenette were clean: no mold or hair in the shower, clean sheets and towels (more about towels later). The fridge kept our stuff good and cold and the two-burner stove worked fine. The cleanliness, quiet, and functioning appliances keeps this property from getting a Terrible rating.

Now for the rest: these rooms are tiny and have limited, poor quality furnishings and have very little space to put suitcases. In addition to the two straight back chairs with the dining table, there was one other chair and it got very uncomfortable after a short time. Also, the bed lacked support and the pillows were thin or lumpy--I woke up with a backache every day and we stayed a week.

The room also smelled funky; not exactly like smoke but it cleared after a few minutes of running the A/C so we didn't bother to try to change the room.

Bring extra towels and washcloths! We didn't know that this chain does housekeeping only once a week. My wife asked for extra washcloths and towels; while they gave them to her, she was told that most people use the laundry to avoid extra charges! We weren't charged, by the way.

If you're going to be out and gone all day, then come back to watch some TV or read then sleep, not a bad deal, but not really a good place to relax. Not sure what we would have done if the weather had turned bad. This hotel is close to movies and malls, so we probably would have hung out there if it had rained. My preference next time would be to stay elsewhere if possible.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramblin_guy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

It began with the minute we arrived. The front desk told us that our room was not clean yet. We arrived after 3pm ( 3pm was check in time). Then when we finally get in the room it had hair in the sink and shower. Chicken was in the freezer. The stove top was dirty. The linens were soiled when we turned back the bedspread.

The price was reasonable and location was decent.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank FLATRAVELERsFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#82 of 115 in Savannah
855 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#95 of 115 in Savannah
101 reviews
9.2 mi away
Motel 6 Savannah - South
Motel 6 Savannah - South
#100 of 115 in Savannah
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#69 of 115 in Savannah
172 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#60 of 115 in Savannah
499 reviews
8.6 mi away
Quality Inn Savannah I-95
Quality Inn Savannah I-95
#87 of 115 in Savannah
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Abercorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Abercorn

Address: 10614 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-1443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $42 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Abercorn 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Abercorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Abercorn Hotel Savannah
Suburban Extended Stay Savannah
Extended Stay Savannah
Savannah Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing