We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #92 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Gross.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

As soon as entering room had to clean toilet. Then after trying to flush the toilet it was clogged. Took about 45 minutes for some one to fix it. I would have but they didn't have a plunger for me to use. Floor dirty in vanity area and bathroom. Hair! We paid 97.00 a night because it was last minute. Would never had stayed here, but traffic was at a stand still we were trying to get home to Detroit. Our hands were bound. After getting here, I would rather suffer in the car.

Room Tip: If you book through hotels.com the address they give is incorrect, they dropped the 1 in front of nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of myself and the entire team at Howard Johnson Express Inn I would like to apologize or any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us.

Any member of our staff will gladly move a guest to a different room when any issue regarding the guest room is brought to their attention.

We hope you will consider staying with us again when traveling in the Savannah area.

Best Regards,

Howard Johnson Express Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    94
    64
    66
See reviews for
129
102
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottdale
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was supposed to be a free night. The staff person at the counter charged the room saying she couldn't believe they let someone book a free night. The next day upon checkout a different person said the previous had booked it incorrectly. Maybe it was just one bad employee, but most times that is all it takes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of myself and the entire team at Howard Johnson Express Inn I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us regarding your reservation process.

A representative of our management team has refunded your account and honored your Wyndham voucher for a free night.

We do hope you will accept our sincere apology and consider giving us a second opportunity to provide you with excellent guest service.

With Kindest Regards,

Howard Johnson Express Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
342 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I saw people smoking crack outside of this hotel. It smelled bad like someone puked on the television. The sheets were clean but the comforter was not. The hotel is close to some bars so you can drink yourself to sleep. I did hear that the real life Forest Gump lives right around the corner.

Room Tip: Choose a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Ready to stop for the day we exited I-95 south of Savannah, Ga. seeing a Marriott, Fairfield and other places to stay. There were NO rooms anywhere. We saw Howard Johnson's and desparate we pulled in. Exhausted we took a room. DON'T DO IT!!! Sleep in your car.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of myself and the entire team at Howard Johnson Express Inn I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us.

Any member of our team is more than happy to move a guest to a different room when they report any issue they may be having to the front desk.

Guest satisfaction is important to us and we will take your comments into consideration for future travelers.

We do hope you will consider giving us a second opportunity to provide you with excellent guest service when travelling in the Savannah area in the future.

With Kindest Regards,

Howard Johnson Express Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#85 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#77 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#83 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#49 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#63 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing