We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #44 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I wanted to stay in the same room. We got the suite. The pull out bed was old and had holes in it. When you lay on it you can feel the springs. Their way of fixing this issue was adding another old mattress. The hot water doesn't work and they were completely aware of it, but neglected to inform us before booking. Savanah is a beautiful place, but I would find somewhere else to stay. Oh PS stay away from the oj, it always taste like sour grapefruit, even after I asked them to change it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Please accept our apology for your disappointing stay. Please know that we are looking into the issue of the pull-out bed being in bad shape, and we will certainly be addressing that problem as soon as possible. We did have a problem with the hotel's water heater, which I know was also a very negative thing to have experienced during your stay. We have corrected that problem, and we did so as quickly as we could. I'd like to ask you to please contact the hotel's General Manager if you were not compensated for the inconvenience. Know that we do take pride in our hotel, and were upset to read your review and hear about your disappointment. Please contact the hotel the next time you're in Savannah and we will ensure that your stay is a vast improvement. Thank you for letting us know about your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 988 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Not in the historic district itself, but a clean and comfortable place away from the busy center of things. The historic district is easy to get to, but the one way streets will have to be navigated a bit free maps are available many places in Savannah. The Oglethorpe has free parking which is a bonus since most of the hotels in the historic district have high daily parking fees.
The Oglethorpe has a lot of charm and I felt transported back to a simpler time with a slower pace that was welcoming. The staff is attentive and the breakfast above average. We will stay there again when we return to Savannah.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redirecting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The staff was always friendly, professional and eager to be of assistance. Our suite faced a beautiful old tree,everyday was like living in old savannah. The atrium was beautiful and decorated tastfully. The location made it easy to travel to the historic district and tybee island.
Southern Hospitality we will not forget.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front and was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capemaySwarthmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed our stay....the staff was wonderful and Kellie at the front desk went above and beyond to help make our stay a memorable one....southern hospitality at it's best. We loved the pool and the location to the historic district.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed for a night with family of 7. Short drive to downtown. Rented two rooms both clean and comfortable. The most important things have been updated such as granite countertops and LCD TVs. Very nostalgic and comfortable. Has a gorgeous atrium with beautiful details. Staff, led by manger Glenn was very friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast was good. Pool area was clean and enjoyable. Ask for firm mattress however as our king was a little mushy. Otherwise it was an unexpected wonderful stay. Would definitely revisit!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a firm bed as our king in room 101 was a little mushy and probably needs replacing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMac1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We decided to add an overnight stop in Savannah on our way down to St Simons Island so we could enjoy Tybee beach, eat at The Crab Shack (mmmm) and hit the tourist district in the evening. We looked for a spot in between and found Oglethorpe on tripadvisor and saw all the wonderful reviews.... they were all right. From making reservations with Kelly to check out with Kelly, the entire visit was superb. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was big. Even though we did not spend a lot of time in the room, while we were there it made the visit even better. Easy sign in internet was good and the bed was wonderful. We had the best night sleep. I didn't want to get out of bed. There was shopping across the street, though I had no time for that. We will definitely be back here. The Oglethrope is an exceptionally great value.

Room Tip: Read the reviews on TripAdvisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skosak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had a very coomfortable executive suite with a living room/dining room separated from the bedroom by a door. Living room had pull-out sofa, chairs, dining table with 4 chairs, desk, microwave, small refrigerator with freezer section, and small sink. The suite was so comfortable and had everything we needed for our visit to Savannah. Stayed 4 nights. The interior of the 3-story hotel had an elevator with a seating area nearby on each floor, a nice, homey touch. We were in easy driving distance to everywhere we planned to go. We toured historic Savannah, Tybee Island, Fort Jackson, Fort Pulaski, and more. Saw Savannah Live at the Savannah Theatre, lots of fun. Tip: meter parking is free after 5pm and weekends, and plentiful. We didn't need parking earlier in the day, but I was told if you buy an all-day parking pass at the visitor center, you could use it for metered parking as well as public lots. Kelly at the front desk went above and beyond in making our stay memorable, giving us great tips and even calling to arrange kayaking for us. If this were like some other fancier hotels I've been to, Kelly would be given the title of concierge. Thank you for making our trip so great, Concierge Kelly!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaGrandmaof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
0.4 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 115 in Savannah
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#61 of 115 in Savannah
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Dr, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Oglethorpe Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
#29 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $91 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District, Comfort Inn Midtown is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 42" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing