We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 hotels in 9 nights: this was the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“7 hotels in 9 nights: this was the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

After 7 hotels in 9 nights in two countries and three states, this has been the best so far. Charming property, welcoming staff, comfortable rooms, with separate sitting room. Nice breakfast included. A very good choice all round. Reward yourself with a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    347
    111
    45
    25
See reviews for
249
447
36
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

If you're not rich enough to stay in the historic downtown Savannah area, the Oglethorpe Inn is a great place for those on a budget, who still want to be close to downtown. My wife and I stayed here one night for a long weekend getaway to Charleston & Savannah, and we would have gladly stayed more. Its about a 10-15 minute drive from downtown (which has free street parking after 5 and on weekends - score!). The Inn is an older building, and while it shows its age in a few places, it is clean, and the decor recalls the Old South with the ironwork and foliage, including the Spanish moss covered Live Oaks out front. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly at check in, during the very good breakfast, and at check out. We will stay here again the next time we return to town (assuming we don't hit the lottery to be able to afford to stay downtown).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danthebookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Room was FILTHY. Pulled out the bed to plug in my CPAP machine to find paper clips, hair dental floss, piles of dust and the entire electic socket hanging out of the wall, and overloaded. There were also mysterious wires disappearing behind the baseboards. The sofa and chair were so dingy and dirty we would not even put our clothes on them. There were no phone books. Our shoes stuck to the floor in the bathroom. I called the front desk to ask if they had some creme rinse for my hair and they said they had nothing. Would never stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
229 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here for three nights on my wife and I's first trip to Savannah. Got a $100 a night king suite.

The suite was big, but not designed appropriately. Flat screen TV in living room, but couch did NOT face it -- it was on the side, so you were always looking to your left instead of straight ahead.

The kitchenette was a microwave and mini fridge. That's it.

Room didn't have much of a view. Think we had a side street.

Got the garden tub, but there was hair in the valves. We had to clean out the tub before turning on the jets. And good luck having a romantic bath. It was an extremely tight fit.

However:

- Room was significantly lower price and bigger than many properties nearby
- Easy drive to the historic district and not far from interstate
- Front desk lady was great. Helpful. Nice. Answered all our stupid questions. Gave us a better map of town than anything we had previously found
- Seemed to be plenty of parking
- Wi-Fi was fast and easy to get on. Didn't have to change many settings, if any
- Building was only 2 stories and the glass elevator made getting to the room, loading and unloading a breeze

I'd stay again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a kitchenette, make sure you find out what it includes. And if you plan to watch TV i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cksportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

First of all, the price can't be beat. We booked on-line and got the TripAdvisor rate of $60 plus tax for a king suite, including breakfast and wifi. There are computers on every floor for guests to use. The lobby is really quaint, reminded us of an old southern plantation. Our room was spotless, and decor was just fine. The A/C worked with no problem. The vanity and toilet were freakishly low in height, but functional. What really makes the place is the friendly staff -- they made us feel like guests instead of paying customers. Maggie was on the front desk at check in and helped us with choosing a place for dinner. The next morning, a lovely blond lady welcomed us to breakfast and asked if we had slept well. Just a pleasure -- we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kunda Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you're looking for a night (or longer) in Savannah, and don't want to pay the eye watering prices for the hotels near the Riverside, this will do the trick. Clean, and well equipped, it's a short drive (or public transport bus) into the centre of things, but none the worse for it.

We booked 2 rooms, but found a light was out in one of them. No maintenance on site, so the receptionist arranged another room with no problems.

The building itself is a much more impressive thing/easier on the eye than the average roadside mass produced motel, and the bedrooms/public areas matched that feel of quality.

Decent eateries nearby, and easy to access from the interstate, so all in all, a great find.

Room Tip: Would be surprised if there issues with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and just had a splendid time. Check in was easy and all the amenities were nice. My boyfriend and I spent a fun couple hours playing checkers in the common area. Nice and relaxing. Would stay again. And the night clerk gave great food recommendations.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
#41 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Historic District
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown
Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Dr, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Oglethorpe Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District, Comfort Inn Midtown is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 42" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing