We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Restful Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oglethorpe Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oglethorpe Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7110 Hodgson Memorial Drive, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Masters Inn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value and Restful Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Unbelievably quiet at night, but admittedly not a full house. Stayed here on a Thursday and Friday evening in late January 2013.King suite was very roomy and the shower was one of the best ever for a hotel with great water pressure. The bed and bedding was great and even though we were on the main floor, it was very quiet. We thought the distance to the historical area was a little more difficult to traverse than advertised, but thankfully Garmin was there. Desk staff was very courteous and helpful. Housekeeping could have been better. Breakfast was average in our view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    320
    94
    42
    24
See reviews for
221
412
32
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The rooms are large with seperate areas for living room & bedroom. Had nice Savannnah charm and feel. Nice free breakfast in am and they had coffee available in the lobby all the time. (even had flavored creamers :)) We always travel with our 2 dogs and they had pet friendly rooms on the first floor. The staff was VERY accomodating to our 4 legged children, as we have found other hotels not to be. Maggie at the front desk was delightful and thorough. We also made friends with Bobby from maintainance while eating breakfast. The staff was so welcoming and friendly. Oh, and the price was great! Would for sure stay here again and would recommend to all friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Oglethorpe Inn and Suites for 3 nights and found it to be a wonderful place to stay. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and the inn was very clean. The free breakfast was better than any I've eaten at with a very large selection of items to choose from. The dining area was so cozy and welcoming. Coffee and hot tea are available at all hours of the day which we enjoyed after coming in from the cold. The room was lovely with a seperate living area that included a couch, chair, fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. The drive to downtown is less than 20 minutes away and the area around the hotel has everything you could want. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Perfect for the price! It is an older hotel but the upgrades make everything better. Larger than the average hotel rooms I've rented in the past. There were two things that were disappointing though: (1) I made the reservations weeks in advance and I asked that my friends be given rooms next to one another - that didn't happen we were placed on different floors. (2) One couple found empty liquor bottles in the room cabinets. Other than those things our stay was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights on our way driving down the east coast. We needed 2 rooms and the hotel was able to place us next to each other although not in inter-connecting rooms. Each was a good size with a separate sitting area although you could not see the TV from both the bed and the sofa. Nevertheless, we didn't go there to watch TV so that was not a major problem and the extra space was welcome anyway. The addition of a microwave was also a positive.
The atrium area in the middle of the hotel is a delightful feature and was a lovely place to have breakfast each morning. The breakfast was fairly standard chain-type fare although it was no more than what we expected or wanted.
We did find the air conditioner to be noisy so we turned this off as much as possible. Fortunately the weather was mild so we did not need to use it much.
The location of the hotel is somewhat out of the way of the main tourist area although it is nearby to a number of local shops. It is also close to the army airfield so an interesting (although perhaps not for some) variety of aircraft can be seen flying overhead at times. However, this never disturbed our sleep.
Our boys found the gym to be useful to maintain their pre-season fitness for soccer.
We found the hotel to be good value provided that you don't mind a short drive to see the sights of Savannah.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was older but very well cared for. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. Decent breakfast in the morning. For the price, this hotel can't be beat! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed 6 nights this time- would stay longer and still feel at home. The breakfast is very good and varied. The staff is SO helpful, cheerful and kind! Overall, a great place to stay: quiet and restful, clean rooms, extras available. Easy access to everything we want: family and downtown equally reached, with many shops very close by. Even the pool was clean, even though it's winter! We're looking forward to staying each time we come; as the title says, almost a second home. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

Room Tip: East side rooms are brighter, off the street. Any level is good since there's a good elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
#41 of 112 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Midtown
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#78 of 112 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oglethorpe Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oglethorpe Inn & Suites

Property: Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Drive, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Masters Inn Suites)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
#29 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oglethorpe Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District,Oglethorpe Inn & Suites is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor, listed in the Top Twenty out of 108 properties. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 32" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Oglethorpe Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing