We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2006

East Bay Inn is one of the all time greats! I was traveling alone, on crutches, and the staff was determined to see that I was comfortable and having a wonderful time in Savannah. The room was spacious and well appointed. The concierge took time to get acquainted, figure ouit my interests , and see that I left no stone unturned. This hotel was everything a good hotel should be.

I plan on return visits to Savannah, and I hope to repreat the good experience that I had at East Bay Inn.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank DekeMoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    256
    69
    31
    9
See reviews for
199
608
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2006

We booked our reservations on their website more than a month in advance. We travelled to Savannah on our first trip since our daughter died. We were greeted at the East Bay Inn (where we had reservations) by a lady with a very poor personality that tried to convince me that we did not have reservations. After assuring her that I had a confirmation she finally told me they overbooked their Inn. She told me they would move us to the Marshall House. We were consequently moved to another one of their Inns - charged more money and required to pay for Valet parking. I would say beware of any dealings with this company.
On a positive note - if you tempt yourself to stay at the Marshall House - ask for Jeffrey at the front desk - he is "the man". He is professional, knowledgable and extremely friendly. He actually knows what's going on!

Helpful?
4 Thank taylor1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2006

What a great hotel ! Lovely people, room and the atmosphere was fantastic. Had a double queen for the space and the room was just delightful. Evening cordials are a great way to chat to folks and heaps of fun. The breakfast included is fantastic in the dining room, complimentary newspapers are a lovely touch as is the turn down service with the weather card for next day. The southern hospitality was stunning and very much enjoyed. Julie and the other girls on the desk were lovely ! Ronnie runs a terrific place here.

Great restaurants nearby and plenty of lovely town to explore. Savannah is just a stunning city and we just loved it. Grays tours run a great narrated trolley tour.

Great location just near River Street and the St.Patricks parade was just amazing !
(one small thing.............. if you book on the net just take your paperwork as ours needed to be checked and adjustments made to bill no fault of ours the price drops almost US$100 a night from Sat to Sun ? )

Thoroughly rec. to everyone ! The small things count in life and they do this well at the East Bay Inn.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2006

I visited the East Bay Inn with my mother and 2 daughters and had a very special time indeed. The service could not have been any better! Our room was tastefully appointed, but could have been cleaner. The carpet was stained, but the beds were very comfortable. The shower head was slow. We enjoyed wine and cheese each evening and had a ball chatting with other travelers. The breakfast was convenient, but could use some improvement. Perhaps purchasing some homemade baked items from the bakery down the street!! The service however was outstanding!! Thank you East Bay Inn.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

I spent two nights there in January with two teen aged girls and our two dogs. So we got two rooms for two nights. The room my husband and I got with our two dogs had a sitting area with a couch and was much larger than the one that the girls got for the same price. It was an average room with a queen sized bed. It was a nice room with comfortable beds and a nice area to let the dogs out. Look out for the fees at check out. There was $75.72 added to our bill for Occupancy and sales tax as well as $8.00 parking fee and $4.00 transportation fee. What ever that is. I provided my own transportation. and .55 transfer fee. ( What Is that?) Almost enough to pay for an additional night. No one was particularly friendly or unfriendly. It was ok. but I wouldn't stay there again because I felt like we were ripped off on the additional junk fees. Plan on adding $37.00 per night to the cost.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2006

Many Disappointments with this so called B&B. First the Room (1) Toilet broke during the middle of night.
(2) Floors Cracked - very noisy (3)Sheets rough (not smooth) (4) Pillows Small (5) Windows shades do not block outside street lights (prepare not to sleep in the dark) (6) Thin Walls (TV of next room at wall opposite our bed). Hotel Staff - Some nice and helpful employees, but others unfriendly, the word stiff comes to mind. Morning Breakfast - Terrible for a B&B, Canned Fruit, Those small litte package sausage biskets. Not much bread slection. If you can sneek in to the Hampton Inn next door, their breakfast (seen thru the window) looks much better.
Afternoon Cordials - Only 2 bottles of Wine, Again the Hampton Inn next door appeared to have a wider selection (we should have stopped walking by their window). In my opinion there are many better places to choose from then the East Bay Inn. One side note, the cafe downstairs called skylers has good food for very reasonable prices. Even if you don't stay in the Inn, eat lunch at Skylers

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2005

East Bay Inn is an unique and interesting place. This was our 2nd time here and we were a little disappointed compared with the first time. The inn is old, has character and charm. We got a room on the first floor with no view, an old squeaky bed with a very hard mattress and a small bathroom. The shower head was in bad shape and hardly any water was coming out. The place however was clean. The breakfast was a very basic continental, nothing to get excited over, but it was free. From 5:30 to 7pm they serve wine, crackers and cheese and little else, but again is free. The service was professional but with little enthusiasm. This is a nice place, centrally located and a great value if you don't mind compromising on comfort and luxuries.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bibescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing