We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every bit of the East Bay Inn!”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Dc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved every bit of the East Bay Inn!”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Inn is super charming and has a great staff - we enjoyed our three-night stay. The location is great, we parked the car and walked every where - and taxi's are cheap should you need one. The rooms are huge - especially on the 3rd floor w/17-18ft-high ceilings. and huge windows! The building was converted from an old factory and features brick walls and wooden floors - which were gorgeous. Staff is very helpful and friendly - ask and you shall receive! We received excellent restaurant recommendations, directions to everything we went to see, and the front desk made activity and restaurant reservatations for us and generally went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We highly recommend this Inn - and please understand it's the SOUTH, so humidity is prevalent and will affect your senses (that's in response to earlier reviews that complained about mildew - whenever you travel, places always smell "differently", it doesn't mean there's a problem with mold or mildew). We did experience a dirty shower curtain - and asked for it to be cleaned - it was changed promptly. East Bay is not a luxury hotel; it's a charming and quaint Inn with surprisingly spacious rooms and basic ammenities. The continental breakfast is exactly what it claims to be - and there's plenty of it, including a waiter to serve your drinks. The afternoon cordials and nightly turndown service was icing on the cake. We have stayed at three other places in Savannah and this was by far our favorite - plus great value. We got a good discount with our AAA membership. We can't wait to book another stay! P.S. We recommend dinner at Casbah (Moroccan) and drinks on the rooftop of the Bohemian hotel - both walking distance from the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerAroundTheGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    278
    72
    32
    9
See reviews for
221
667
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The location of the East Bay Inn and we walked everywhere, never moving our car the 2 days we were there. The old building has charm and the wine & cheese in the lobby in the evening was very nice. Breakfast in the morning was adequate - they could have done a better job of keeping "hot" items hot and when my husband tried to cut a croissant it was hard as a rock.

Our biggest problem with the Inn was the cleanliness of our room. There was sand in our bed when we check in, the toilet had a ring and there was mold on the shower curtain and the bathroom faucets looked as though they had not been wiped down in quite a while. The next day we did request that the shower curtain be changed, which was done. Even though the building is old there is no excuse for not keeping the rooms clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puddin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2009

1st room we stayed in smelled like someone peed all over it. So then we switched to another room----smelled like Mold, Mildew AND Urine! Needless to say, we only stayed one night and did not finish our 3 day stay at this hotel. I understand it is an 'old building' but come on---something needs to be done about the smell. Especially if it is Mold.
I would not recommend anyone staying here. Rooms are pretty, but that is about it. High speed internet was suppose to be Free, but it was 'down' for 2 weeks. The showers were cold too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miki1pom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The East Bay Inn is not only well located and affordable... It also reminds us why choosing a B&B over a hotel can make your stay personalized and unique. The service is outstanding and we were charmed by the hospitality of the entire staff. Getting to meet other guests over cheese and wine around 5 pm is a great way to share experiences and get good recommendations. We already recommended the East Bay Inn and definitely plan to be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

This inn was in a great location and just one block from River Street. It also had easy access to get in the car and go to Tybee. We were disappointed with the breakfast offerings - it was no better than a continental breakfast at a Holiday Inn or something. We were looking for a bed and breakfast so that we could have a nice breakfast experience and this was not what we had in mind. The wine and hors deourves were nice in the evening. Some of the concierges were not very helpful and when you asked a question, they seemed like you were inconveniencing them. Since there are no vending machines, I asked for a soda at the front desk and when I got my bill, that can of soda cost me $1.50. I'd probably stay here again, just because of the location, but for the money, I wish we would have gotten a little better service and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingduo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at East Bay and found it very charming. The old building is great! The brick walls, high ceilings, and ornate mouldings were beautiful. It is right between Reynolds Square and River Street. If you really like the squares, it's a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OfficeEscapees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eschborn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

We stayed at the East Bay Inn in May 2009 for three nights. Upon arrival I noticed that the sheets were (blood?) stained and the bedside glass table tops were dirty. I informed the lady at reception and she sent somebody up straightaway. We had to wait for approx. 30 minutes in the lobby but were served cold drinks by the friendly bell service. When we returned to our rooms I noticed that the table tops were still dirty and informed the lady at reception once again. She was very apologetic, sent somebody up to give the table tops a wipe and said that we would get the first of our three nights free and that she would instruct Expedia to give us a refund. We haven't received any refund yet, I have already inquired with the innkeeper (Ronnie Jones) by mail twice and never got a reply. This matter is not being handled professionally at all. I am disappointed. The East Bay Inn should be doing much better than that especially with the competition just "round the corner".
A really nice thing about the East Bay Inn is the wine and cheese at night where guests can socialise. There was a eight of us one evening and not a single one would come back - they, too, were not happy with the standard of cleanliness and the housekeeping (dirty coffee cups, glasses, etc. were not replaced, no toilet paper). None of those people (including myself) would consider coming back. .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerstinEschborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,706 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing