We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for saving our little weekend gettaway!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks for saving our little weekend gettaway!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Have had bad experiences before, just like any other traveler around, yet, not on this one. after driving for 8 hours, we were not expecting much of the weekend, since it was rainy the whole time, but as any busy couple out there, we just needed a little break with eachother. Upon arrival we found the place very charming, very light and bright areas, the staff was friendly and the place was clean and well kept, yet the best was yet to come, the room was fantastic! Old southern charm meets romance and comfort, great linens, very comfortable bed, great experience all around. Although we did not take advantage of it, they did have a wine and cheese social and full breakfast, wich is included with your room rental. Another selling point was the fact we were in the middle of everything, so getting around was a breeze, even though we had a car. Look forward to getting back there...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaccinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    262
    69
    31
    9
See reviews for
207
620
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

The East Bay Inn was a perfect choice for visiting the historic district of Savannah. The location is within easy walking distance of Factor's Walk and its night life - but it is nestled in a more subdued and genteel location near the elegant Reynold's square. Our rooms were spotless, the beds new and comfortable, and the breakfast was extensive. But, what really sets this small hotel apart is the staff. Our luggage was carried, our questions were answered, our coffee was served, our tours were arranged, our rooms were freshened several times a day and always with a smile and a genuine hospitality often missing today. These folks take pride in their work and it shows in the service. Don't miss the lovely afternoon tea compliments of Melvin the bellman, And Miss Elizabeth at the desk will arrange any tour plans you might need.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2009

The East Bay Inn was my husband's surprise gift of a romantic March get away. Charmed by their website photos, we invited friends to make the trip with us.

The Inn is fairly easy to find and has limited on site parking that is well lit at night. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that The East Bay Inn is pet friendly! The outgoing staff is wonderfully attentive which does much to make up for the Inn's well worn interior. A small lobby with lovely period furniture plays host to the late afternoon wine and cheese socials. Various light snacks are served along with healthy pours of both red & whites. A much appreciated hot pot of coffee is also provided to perk up those folks who are fading from the days' sightseeing. Be forewarned: the coffee served at the Inn tends to run toward the very weak. Those of you used to Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts, be prepared to go out in search of stronger brew, as the four of us did after breakfast each morning.
The carpets throughout are in sore need of a heavy steam cleaning and during our visit, there were issues with the general cleanliness of our room.
The in-room self-service coffee is lovely to have for early risers; however, the paper lace doiley placed underneath not too clean coffee cups o n the service tray was soiled & crumpled, stained with old coffee and remained there until I removed it late into our visit. Although the little half & half creamers were a nice touch, coffee stirrers and artificial sweetener would have been appreciated.
Further inspection of the room revealed a nice layer of dust on just about everything but the bedside table and the entertainment center cabinet doors. The glass topped tables had smears, cup rings and bits of crumbs, etc., from the previous occupants. The carpets could've done with a quick vac as well.
( Not wanting to make my husband feel bad, the housekeeping faults were overlooked. Although, looking back at what we paid for our rooms, we really should have spoken with management)
East Bay Inn does have many good points. The beds are wonderful with enough pillows for a princess. Crisp sheets with a down comforter atop a comfortable mattress made sleeping in a strange bed a dream. Turn down service at 7 each evening is done by delightful staff eager to point out wonderful places to visit in their city. Very helpful. In fact, every one of the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful during our visit. They were eager to help us make reservations for tours and were honest enough to steer us away from several of the tourist trap restaurants for which Savannah has become famous.
East Bay Inn has wonderful potential once the housekeeping details are smoothed out and a bit of sprucing up is done to its more fatigued interior. One other tidbit: Squeaky floors are expected in a building that old so be prepared. We were awakened very early each morning by the busy occupants on the floor above us.
I would only recommend the Inn with caveats towards the housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVikinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We spent 4 nights recently at theEast Bay Inn. Furnishing are nice but housekeeping is terrible. The wood furniture has glass tops which had dirty rings from glasses at check in and they were never cleaned .The bathroom smelled, the floor was filthy especially around the toilet. There was mold around the bathtub. The wallpaper was peeling under the sink, and there was old hard brown dirt around the edges of the sink surround. The carpet in the room and the 2nd floor hallway s were only vacumned once during our 4 night stay and I had to ask to have it done . The bed was made and fresh towels left and that was absolutely the only housekeeping done. Staff was friendly, afternoon wine and snack time was very nice. Breakfast was addquate. First time visitors should be aware Bay St. is a very busy 4 lane street with lots of truck traffic, so it can be noisy. River street is a string of tourist trinket stores, bars targeting a very young crowd and a few nice restaurants. If I go back I will choose a location off of Bay Street and a bit further west.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supermom28
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2009

My husband and I went away for a weekend without the kids and had a great stay at East Bay Inn. The rooms are very attractive and quiet and peaceful, but the location is right in the heart of everything. Perfect combination. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would absolutely reccomend East Bay Inn!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We traveled to Savannah during December ‘08 and the Inn was nicely decorated for the Holidays. The woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful. We were delighted with our room – high ceilings, comfy bed, beautifully decorated. You couldn’t ask for a more convenient location; it’s within walking distance of everything. We walked to The Lady & Sons (Paula Deen’s place) for dinner and had a lovely evening.
I inadvertently left my jewelry case in the bathroom upon departure and didn’t even realize it until several days later. When I called the Inn I was told that the housekeeping staff had turned my jewelry in and it was tucked away in the Inn’s safe. The Innkeeper was extremely helpful and went out of his way in arranging to get my jewelry back to me.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhimsicalOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We loved the Inn. It was in a perfect location. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning. We also enjoyed a complimentary happy hour at 5:30 where they offered beverages and little finger sandwiches, cookies, etc. The room was beautiful and clean. We would definitely come back to the East Bay Inn.

  • Liked — roomis large
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,498 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,199 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing