We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Harveys Lake, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend for a family wedding and couldn't have been more comfortable! Our double queen room was huge and the beds were wonderful! Soft with numerous covers and pillows!! I loved the weight and quality of all the fabrics on the bed and windows. Luxurious and clean! Having a sitting area with a couch and chair made the room even more comfortable. Loved Melvin the bellman, the concierge, and the journal about "charlie" sightings.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    278
    72
    32
    9
See reviews for
221
667
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location. Beautiful room with gorgeous view of river and restaurants on the river. Very historic hotel with a nice cocktail hour and small bar. Restaurant downstairs was just ok. (we ate breakfast there). Great location on Bay street!!! We traveled with our 15 month old baby and she did great. Very quiet. Friendly staff. I highly recommend. Also great deal for the rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g8rgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We were staying two nights of our vacation and I was really disappointed. The price is a bit high, which I don't mind, but when when paying almost $200 a night I would expect cleanliness and a little more quiet. We could hear people talking next door several times, creaky floors. If you are a light sleeper not the place for you.
When we came in the room first day there was so much hair on the bathroom floor it looked like a hair salons floor after a haircut. I wiped up and put the rags under the sink and when we came in after they cleaned next day the hair was still there. It was under the sink and caked up in the corners by the tub. I understand it is a hotel and I may not be the perfect housekeeper but I expect more for my money. Room was okay other than that. Breakfast was not great, not enough choices and first day they didn't have coffee or eggs. Hubby had to wait for both. He was not happy. We won't be staying here in the future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperEastBayInn, Manager at East Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
As the Innkeeper at East Bay Inn, I am sorry to hear that your stay was so disappointing.

The housekeeping issues you mention are certainly unacceptable, and I have spoken with our staff about your review here. I can assure you that our team is dedicated to improving the cleanliness issues you mentioned. I also apologize that our breakfast offerings were lacking, and especially that you had a delay there one morning. Lastly, regarding the creaky floors and lightly-insulated walls, we must agree that while East Bay Inn is a charming building, full of history, some guests do find the nuances and noises of an old building difficult to ignore when trying to relax and sleep.

I do truly apologize that your stay with us was not what you had expected. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, so that we can address them. Please do be assured that I am taking your comments very seriously as your concerns do not represent our own levels of superior service. We sincerely want you to enjoy your next stay in Savannah, and hope you will reconsider a future stay at East Bay Inn.

Best regards,
Ronnie Jones, Innkeeper
East Bay Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This historic Inn has a perfect location for Savannah travelers, within walking distance from all attractions in Historic District and just across the street from riverfront.
Nice decorated rooms and clean. Breakfast was included but very minimal, not deluxe as featured. There was also complimentary wine and snacks, at the bar, in the evenings, between certain hours. Parking for 2 days was $12 at a parking garage just next door. They have about 10 parking spaces at the inn if you're lucky enough to find one available. To load and unload you can park right in front of the entrance door. We had an enjoyable 2 night stay here.Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atneba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was like stepping back in time. Decor was beautiful, and staff was more than helpful. Kinda hate to let the cat out of the bag about this place, because I can't wait to go back, and don't want to have everything booked. Wonderful just Wonderful..

Room Tip: Every room has its own personal touch and are all good even the ones with "no view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellek214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The East Bay Inn is a fantastic B&B located in the perfect spot in Savannah's historic district! The history of the building is awesome to learn about and is especially great if you're a history buff like me.

We were upgraded to a king room which was simply gorgeous. Our view was amazing and the room was stunning. Everything was clean and comfortable!

The breakfast in the morning was exceptional on Sunday morning with oatmeal, eggs, fruit, pancakes, etc. Monday morning was just okay (eggs weren't fantastic) but still better than any other hotel we've been to.

Jennifer at the front desk was AMAZING. Talk about Southern hospitality. She was so sweet, attentive, and accommodating. I truly can't say enough good about her!!

Perk:
free bottled water at the front desk - awesome!

There were only 2 "negatives" and they weren't really that serious:
1. Parking in the parking garage (super close but still)
2. Julie at the front desk. She seemed as if she couldn't be bothered and was very short with us. She was too busy writing a very short note to stop and grab us two waters insisting that we wait till she finished. We stood there in silence waiting. I would've expected that someone in the hospitality field, especially in the south, would tend to their guests needs first before doing what they were doing (within reason, of course).

All in all, this is a fantastic resort that I highly recommend! You simply cannot go wrong!

Ps. Not ghost encounter for us! Whew!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent two nights in this beautiful place. Our room was large with a king size bed with a wonderful mattress and pillows. The service was fabulous, including a turn down service at night where they bring ice and a chocolate. Each room has a journal where other guests have written about their stay. Can't say enough positives about this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob62521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,689 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,279 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 113 in Savannah
3,032 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing