We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Detour To Yesteryear” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Detour To Yesteryear”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is truly a charming old fashioned hotel. The location was ideal to explore the historic area of Savannah. The room was also very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I look forward to another visit to this hotel if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    256
    69
    31
    9
See reviews for
199
607
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

The staff was extremely polite and attentive. There was no manager around obviously who would have had the authority to repair the toilet properly in our bathroom. Meaning, call a plumber if your maintenance staff is not equipped. East Bay Inn is such a beauty it is a shame something simple causes such aggravation. It was impossible to switch rooms because the Inn was full.
Our room was spacious and did not face the street so it was nice and quiet. I would recommend this hotel if the housekeeping improves. This beauty of a building deserves some attention.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn recently for my birthday celebration. The room was beautiful and the staff very pleasant. The evening wine social was very pleasant as well. We had a room at the front of the inn overlooking Bay St. and the river walk area. I was really surprised that the traffic was as busy as it was all through the night, and unfortunately, I could hear every car and truck that drove by. I am a very light sleeper and I found this a bit of a negative. I also noticed that the floor under the bed looked like it hadn't been vacuumed since Sherman's March to the Sea. The room wasfairly clean, but they need to put a little elbow grease into cleaning the tub and polishing the glas top tables. A beautiful room like that should shine!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed for four nights at this quaint Inn. There was a problem with the room we were shown to (it was not the room I had booked over the telephone ). Although we could not move immediately into our desired room, which was a corner room on the 3rd floor, Julie at reception helped facilitate the move as quickly as possible.
Special mention must be made of the Innkeeper, a very nice guy called Ronnie.Not only did he make a generous gesture, he listened and genuinely cared about our grievance.
Sure mistakes happen, but to rectify them in the way Ronnie did was very thoughtful.
The breakfast room in the basement is full of character with brick walls and spacious seating. the food here is very good, served buffet style, with the exception of one morning, when a cooked omelette was brought to your table.
A wine hour each evening with nibbles added to the excellent extras provided here.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the 3rd floor are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpressGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1000 oaks, ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Can't say enough good things about the staff, the hotel, the rooms (319, corner king with 18ft ceilings, and one ghost visit) Breakfast was fabulous, best biscuits I've ever eaten (thank you again, James). Left my Ipad in the b'fast room, returned 8 hours later, they had it for me! Wow, impressed! Front desk folks all so wonderful, embodiment of Southern Hospitality. Ice water there at the desk complimentary, newspapers every morning, wine and cheese in the afternoon. And a frequent visitor program! I can't wait to take advantage of that. Location was fabulous!

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but ours as a corner room had a wonderful view of Bay St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyn2lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a great stay at this inn. the staff were friendly & very helpful. Our room was very quiet , we were in the back side of the inn as a front room on Bay ST. could prove to be a bit noisier due to traffic. we would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank backcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Inn is very pet-friendly. For its people guests, it provides a friendly cocktail hour with delicious wines and great help in seeing Savannah. Julie on the desk was fantastic throughout--arranging a carriage ride, discussing restaurants, giving directions, and just being downright friendly. Our room was huge. Included breakfast had variety and excellent taste. Would come back here in a flash.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on busy Bay Street. First floor room in rear is perfect--especially for dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardBonekemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing