We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Inn near everything”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Inn near everything”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We loved the East Bay Inn. Everything was wonderful!
We booked 2 rooms ( one was pet friendly). The pet friendly room was on the first floor . You never heard a sound even though all the pet friendly rooms were full. There is a park across the street which made it very easy to take the dog out.
The second room was a superior room and was huge. The beds were very comfortable and the decor was beautiful. The bathroom was agood size and very clean too.
The hotel is near everything, especially River Street.
The staff is probably the most friendly and helpful of any hotel I've ever stayed at . It was such a pleasure to be greeted evey time we came in.
We also loved the wine and cheese every evening. It was great to talk to the other guests.
The breakfast is just your basic stuff but it was enough to keep us going until lunch.
Savannah is such a great city with the best restaurants and attractions. I can't wait to go back and will positively stay at The East Bay Inn!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    271
    71
    32
    9
See reviews for
214
651
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

This is a lovely appointed old place one block from the river. Beautiful furnishings and fabrics.My friend was here from England, we were on a girlfriends getaway. This was the first of the Inns or B & B's that had a room with two beds. The beds were very comfortable, lots of pillows. Room held a sofa, coffee table, chairs and THREE luggage racks, limited hanging space, plenty of drawers. Small bathroom but lots of towels, hair dryer, etc. Breakfast is included, a typical spread of cooked, breads, muffins, fruit,etc. Great service staff always. Red & White Wine and cheese is provided from 5'ish to exactly 7 PM in the comfortable lobby. Parking is limited in Savannah, $8 here if you are lucky enough to find a spot. The place was very clean except for a wall mirror that was always missed! My only issue was the shower was unpredictable and would go from hot to cold every 30 seconds.

  • Liked — Location, quality of furninshings & the beds
  • Disliked — shower was hot & cold
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank britinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2008

My husband and I went to Savannah for a couple of nights just to get away. Overall, we loved the East Bay Inn. The staff was very friendly and we loved our room. It was very "historical" looking which we loved. Although this is listed as a Bed and Breakfast, it really is just a hotel with a continental breakfast. That was fine for us but don't expect a homemade hot breakfast in the morning. They served hot sausage and biscuits. Everything else was fruit, cereal, muffins, etc. What we loved most about East Bay Inn was the location. We parked our car in the small hotel lot when we arrived and never moved it again until we left. We were able to walk everywhere! The only two complaints we had about our stay was that we were supposed to have a turn down service each night and both nights we did not receive that. The other complaint was that the hotel charged us 8.00 to park in their own lot. I read several different things about parking there in other reviews and how they would give you a parking pass. Well they do, but they charge you! We thought that was unnecessary. Those were our only complaints which ultimately aren't bad. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — We loved the historical feel and the location of the inn.
  • Disliked — We did not receive the turn down service promised and were also charged for parking.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lwyza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zufferguffin
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the East Bay Inn for what is probably our last trip before our baby arrives. We really enjoyed it. The Inn and our room had a lot of charm. The staff was awesome! They helped us book tours and find great places to eat. I highly recommend the East Bay Inn.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zufferguffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, AR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Ok, it was actually August of 2001 that I stayed here, and my review is probably out of date. This was a mother-daughter vacation and 7 years later we still talk about how wonderful our stay was here. I'ved tried in vain to find rooms in other locales (i.e. New Orleans) comparable to this hotel and still have not found anything else like it. Glad to see it's still well-loved.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choocie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

My You Go GIrls! group found the rooms to be absolutely charming. Loved the colors and the exposed brick wall. Easy walk to the river for lots of good restaurants. The evening wine reception was a great way to end the day. Breakfast service was a bit bogged down in the morning but who wouldn't be when 23 women all showed up wanting coffee. Staff was helpful and the rooms were very quiet. We plan to return next spring.

  • Liked — Charming room and location
  • Disliked — Breakfast was slow
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firstgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

The only problem with B&Bs is you never quite know what you're going to get...East Bay Inn is an updated, old Savannah building with a lot of southern charm fabric decor, creaky floors & pillars in the middle of the room and hallways. The personnel are wonderful as is the evening wine tasting. The breakfast has the most delicious biscuits. East Bay is not above average, however it certainly is a pleasant stay at a great location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A little tired
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam87MiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,624 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,259 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,991 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing