We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savannah Charm”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Savannah Charm”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Pros:
*An older building that has maintained the character and charm with wood floors, brick walls, high ceilings, gorgeous drapes, large crown molding, and antique furniture.
*Excellent customer service. Staff is friendly and helpful.
*FREE wi-fi.
*Complimentary cold bottled water from the front desk.
*Complimentary wine and cheese for two hours each evening in the bar area. There were light hors d'oeuvres each night that we attended.
*Free hot breakfast consisted of eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage or ham (different days), biscuits, gravy, pancakes, breads, bagels, yogurt, 3 cereals, fresh whole fruit, coffee, and juice. This is served in the basement, which has great character with painted brick floors, exposed beams and floor joists, and a charming staircase (also elevator accessible).
*Excellent location on Bay Street. Within walking distance of all shops and restaurants downtown and on River Street.
*Comfortable beds.
*Our room had a large love seat (large enough for a child to sleep) and two wing back chairs.
*Flat screen TV.
*Hot shower with curved shower curtain rod.
*Thicker towels than typical hotels.
*Turn down service with mints.
*Parking garage close by.
*Knowledgeable bellman who took our luggage to our room. He shared info about the building, which was originally a cotton warehouse.

Cons:
*Creaky floors. Actually a plus for me, because it added to the charm, but for light sleepers, this might be annoying, as you can not only hear people in your room, but also others when A/C unit is not running and all else is quiet.
*Street noise. We were two rooms back from Bay Street and could hear the continuous traffic. It might not be as bad further back into the hotel.
*Doors need slow closures. Very heavy doors that slam if not closed purposefully gently.
*Elevator noise. Our room was next to the elevator, and we could hear it, but it wasn't obnoxious.
*Because of the shape of our room, the armoire which housed the TV, was set back in the living area, which wasn't great for viewing from both beds, although it did pull out and swivel, which was helpful.
*Small bathroom due to older building.
*Limited outlets due to older building, although there was one with four receptacles in the middle of the room. Just not any near a mirror other than the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishandSeashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    278
    72
    32
    9
See reviews for
221
667
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hill Country, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at The East Bay Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a lovely hotel, rooms with great character. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Yes, it is an older hotel. Yes, the floors might creak a bit. To me that is part of the character of the hotel. We were lucky enough to get a parking space at the hotel and never moved our car. We would stay again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel with great staff and service. The location was wonderful. We parked our car and left it there all 4 days we stayed there. The room rate included a free breakfast which was pretty good. It was listed as "continental" but they had hot strambled eggs, biscuits and gravey every day and one breakfast meat each day. The room was very romantic for our 6 months anniversary with a four poster bed and brick walls on two sides. It would have been nice to have a small fridge, but everything was so nice it would be hard to complain about one small thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just returned from a great stay at the East Bay. Parked our car for 5 days and never had to move it. This hotel is in on the Savanah River in the center of the historic district. The staff is knowledgible and extremely accomodating. Everything from restaurants to historic sites is in walking distance. Our delux King room was period related and very roomy. The only problem we had was a noisey bathroom fan that could not be repaired. I will surely return to the East Bay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank count48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This Inn is so deligtful and charming. Definitely worth a try. You can walk to the River Front area and wonderful restaurants. Parking at the Inn is very limited, I lucked out and didn't have to ask about a parking garage, so you might want to ask about garage location before you get there. Staff is great. Breakfast was OK if you're not into big breakfasts!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my second stay, first was 14 years ago, I loved it then, so I came back. We had room 326, back corner cozy queen. Small but very quaint and fine for two people who were going to be out touring most of the time. The room with 18 foot high ceilings and brick walls was charming, the little foyer to the room, period furniture, the armoire (very little room to hang clothes because no closets), huge windows, all pretty cool. All very historic, giving the atmosphere we wanted. The bathroom was certainly adequate. Staff very nice, lobby and common areas nicely appointed. Wonderful creaky floors, loved it. Walk to just about anywhere you want to go, from River St to town squares, location was great. Things that need attention in the room: the blinds - very dusty and need a damp cloth to wipe down, a spider web in the bottom corner of one window, clearly visible when we opened blinds. One blind didn't work well at all. The bathroom fixtures were in need of repair, the drain plug kept coming off and the faucets needed a deeper cleaning. The toilet seat had some rust or something on the back. How much would that cost to replace, really? and the silver container that held the spare roll of toilet paper hadn't been wiped off or cleaned in forever! I didn't want to touch it. I don't like to be put in the "doubt zone" in terms of cleanliness when staying at a hotel. The bed seemed lumpy to us but ok. A little more attention is required to cleanliness, at least in that room. We were there three nights and on the 3rd night we both woke up in the wee hours to rapid tapping IN THE ROOM. My boyfriend, who is sensitive, felt a presence and heard voices. I heard the tapping 3 different times within several hours, and could tell something was in the room. Not the normal creaking outside in the hallway. He also heard someone lightly knock on our door after I dozed back off. Not scary, just a there. Although my boyfriend was a little freaked out. Charlie is "alive" and well!

Room Tip: Rooms on back are quieter. Bay street is very noisy. Pet friendly rooms on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Healingscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the East Bay Inn. Our room was cozy and nicely decorated with amazingly high ceilings. The staff was nice and helpful but not intrusive. Loved that they didn't nickel and dime us like some places, and included Wi-Fi and free bottled water, etc. Breakfast was a bit on the skimpy side, only tried it one day. Perfect location, didn't move our car once after we arrived and were able to walk everywhere. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniMattiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,703 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing