We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Large rooms, high ceilings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #7 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Large rooms, high ceilings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great location, large rooms, high ceilings. I agree with other reviews about the breakfast. Ok, if you just want to eat, but so many great choices nearby for breakfast. The wine offered in the evening was a nice treat. The staff was very friendly. We loved our chats with "Sheila". The place did get a bit noisy on the weekend, but running the fan helps.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    229
    60
    27
    8
See reviews for
168
538
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently stayed five nights at East Bay Inn. Like most hotels there were positive & negative aspects to our stay.

Positive:
The staff - particularly Shelia at the front desk who did an outstanding job of helping us arrange restaurant reservations, provide advice on where to eat & visit and add a smile to our day. Everyone was very friendly.
Location - within walking distance of many interesting places in the historic district.
Decor - the hotel is in an old building and the period decorations are well done. Rooms are comfortable.

Negative
Building - the hotel is in an old building that has very poor noise insulation between rooms or between floors. People talking in the next room or walking on the floor above us were very annoying. After reading reviews of the hotel we got a room facing the rear of the building. Good advice! The Inn is on a very busy street (24/7).
Bathrooms - are relatively small and the fan was very noisy.
HVAC system - very noisy.
Breakfast - eatable but very basic

Highlights of our visit: Private walking tour of the historical district by Bobby Davis & wildlife observed on the 4 mile drive in the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor, facing the rear of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockymtpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Outstanding facility and staff. This is one of the best lodging experiences we have ever had and traveled for over 30 years. The rooms are beautiful and enjoyed wine reception and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hcrtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved this property, it is located close to river street and is in walking distance to everything!! The staff is wonderful and they serve breakfast as well as have an on site restaurant in the basement area. We have recommended this inn to several of our friends and family and they were very thankful for our suggestion. I do however recommend to stay in the back of the inn and do not let the allure of the street room get you, they are noisy. Also just a heads up that parking is extremely limited( which they do warn you about) but there is a parking fee involved ($15 I think) which gives you access to park at any meter for the length of your stay or you can park in a garage that is to the north of the inn across the street. We stay here every time we go to Savannah, we only live an hour or so away and were engaged there so it's a special place to my husband and I.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aisland84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My spouse and another couple stayed at the inn overnight just last week - the entire staff was very warm and eager to please throughout our stay. We arrived early on Thursday and were able to check our baggage and park the car in the nearby garage so we could spend most of the afternoon touring Savannah. Melvin the Bellman provides the best welcome and introduction to the East Bay Inn and made us feel like we were checking in to a 4 star hotel. Our rooms were the cozy queens which were very spacious - the decor is traditional with a 4 poster bed, beautiful decor and soft comfy chair and love seat. There was a flat screen TV which we didn't find time to use but is also a nice touch. The rooms were located in the back of the building which is quieter than the front side on Bay St. The evening wine and cheese plus the continental breakfast in the morning were nice touches. The inn also provides a turn down service for each room. We did not bring any pets but I understand this place does cater to pet owners also. We only had a short stay and spent most of our time outside exploring the area and taking a tour - the location is terrific and we could walk to nearby restaurants and shops. We definitely would love to stay here again and take more time to visit Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We checked in on a Friday afternoon and stayed until Sunday morning. This B&B was very quaint, well appointed and the staff was friendly. The afternoon wine and cheese gatherings were a nice touch and a good way to start an evening. Our room was large and comfortable albeit my bed was a bit on the hard side for my liking. The furniture was large, but inviting and the room was cozy. There was a journal in our room in which prior guests had shared their hotel and city experiences which was fun to read and a great idea! The hot portion of breakfast left a bit to be desired, but there was enough fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, juices, etc. to make up for it. Coffee available any time was a plus as well. Over all, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others staying in Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eljaybee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and three girlfriends went to Savannah for a get away. This hotel was the best from a lovely room, to location and especially the staff. The staff could not do enough for us!! We felt like we were with family. The wine and cheese evenings let us mingle with other guests. I highly recommend this hotel for any staying in Savannah. shelia at the front desk had maps and bottled water for us during our entire time and made out reservations. What a great place!!! We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WHSBookLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#9 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,606 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern comfort and classic elegance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from the Riverfront, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Breakfast, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing